Send CTRL+ALT+F1

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by FinnTux, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. FinnTux

    FinnTux Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I noticed VM console window now has Start, Stop etc buttons to control the VM. Thats a great feature. How about sending key combinations other that CAD? At least CTRL+ALT+F1(-F4) would be useful. That would make it possible to switch to another virtual terminal on linux consoles.
     
  2. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,484
    Likes Received:
    314
    sounds reasonable - do you plan to implement yourself?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. FinnTux

    FinnTux Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm afraid I don't know proxmox well enough to do that. Furthermore I'm not that much of a programmer.
     
  4. santalaus

    santalaus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also the Posibility to send TAB via VNC would be nice.
     
  5. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,484
    Likes Received:
    314
    OK - will add to our TODO list
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,635
    Likes Received:
    419
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. FinnTux

    FinnTux Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually figured out a way to add "CAF1" button to the menu. While adding "CAF2" and "CAF7" buttons I realized that "Send Key" button like described in the above bug report (feature request) is much better way to do it.

    Altough I'd like to see a fix to the TAB problem in linux desktops first...
     
  8. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,635
    Likes Received:
    419
    Someone needs to find the difference why it´s working on Windows and not on Linux. (Most times it´s the opposite...)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. caracolla

    caracolla New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please, can you give me some pointers to start searching? What code is involved for that bug?
    Thank you
     
  10. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,484
    Likes Received:
    314
    We use the tigervnc java console, and qemu-kvm as vnc server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. santalaus

    santalaus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, but I could not verfiy it.

    Yesterday "TAB didn't work n Linux (Windows not tested) now I want to verify it and it worked on Linux and Windows.

    So forget it

    Best Regards
    Nico
     
  12. caracolla

    caracolla New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I tried the proxmox '/usr/share/vncterm/VncViewer.jar' (tigervnc) to connect to a VNC server and the TAB key behaves correctly.
    So the problem must be in 'pvemanagerlib.js'. I can suggest a workaround:
    Edit file '/usr/share/pve-manager/ext4/pvemanagerlib.js'
    at line 1842
    for the applet parameter 'Show Controls' change the value from 'No' to 'Yes'
    before:
    Code:
    {tag: 'param', name: 'Show Controls', value: 'No'}
    after:
    Code:
    {tag: 'param', name: 'Show Controls', value: 'Yes'}
    Now TAB works from Linux desktop. The side effect is to show the applet controls.
    For me this is much more acceptable than having TAB not working from Linux desktop (using Windows only to connect to ProxMox console was not a valid option).
     
    #12 caracolla, Oct 5, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2012
  13. FinnTux

    FinnTux Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here. Working TAB is a must in the console and I rarely have windows desktop in front of me. Thanks.
     
  14. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,484
    Likes Received:
    314
    Interesting, but I do not understand why that influences the behavior of the tab key? Any ideas? Please can you ask on the tigervnc lists if anybody there can explain the behavior?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. caracolla

    caracolla New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not completely sure that is an applet fault. As I already wrote, the applet alone seems to work correctly.
    The command:
    $ java -jar VncViewer.jar HOST <host> PORT <port> "Show controls" No
    gives me a VNC viewer without controls and with working TAB key.
    Maybe the problem is coming from your "js code" interacting with the applet.
     
  16. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,484
    Likes Received:
    314
    How I can influence keypress behaviour of java applets from outside???

    Anyways, I will do a code review tomorrow - maybe I can find something related.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,635
    Likes Received:
    419
    I can confirm this, setting this value to yes leads to a working tab on Linux. Lets see.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. FinnTux

    FinnTux Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,484
    Likes Received:
    314
    What if you run the applet inside the browser (without our js code)?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice