Route to shared gateway

Gino Douven

Oct 14, 2016
Hello Community,

I am new to the proxmox envirement and this week i am trying to get something done which i can not seem to understand. (also new to linux). I hope someone of you guys are willing to help me with my problem here :)

I really want internet sharing between the 192.168.2.x and 192.168.3.x subnets

Proxmox host - 192.168.2.20 gateway 192.168.2.254 (internet connection)

I have 2 debian containers:

Cloudrouter eth0 - 192.168.2.21/24 gw 192.168.2.254 and eth1 192.168.3.21 (internet works ofcourse)

Clientserver eth0 - 192.168.3.1

- i have enabled ipv4 forwarding in 192.168.2.21
- i can ping 192.168.2.21 from 192.168.3.1 (but not further to the main gateway)

i can't seem to get routing between the cloudrouters interfaces..

I really appreacite any help and thank you in advance!

Hi Gino
If you want your "cloudserver" to act as a router for the 192.168.3 network, did you set your "clientserver" to have a default route to 192.168.3.21?

Also you need to make sure that the eth0 of clientserver and the eth1 of cloudrouter are on the same bridge ( you can create a new bridge for that)

Thank you Manu,

By default route i assume you mean gateway. They were all in the main bridge vmbr0. So maybe thats the reason it dind't worked.

For some reason my OVSBridge wont start after reboots :(. I've read something about the standard version being from debian and not compatible?

Thx in advance !

Thank you Manu,

By default route i assume you mean gateway. They were all in the main bridge vmbr0. So maybe thats the reason it dind't worked.

For some reason my OVSBridge wont start after reboots :(. I've read something about the standard version being from debian and not compatible?

Thx in advance !

So is the network working now between your two VMs ?

About

The Proxmox community has been around for many years and offers help and support for Proxmox VE, Proxmox Backup Server, and Proxmox Mail Gateway.