1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RAID card - proxmox boot problem

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE 1.x: Installation and configuration' started by guedouarj, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. guedouarj

    guedouarj Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I've recently bought this RAID card :

    Digitus - SATA 150 4 channel PCI RAID - chip : Silicon Image SiL 3114

    The installation was ok and it finished normally ( at 100% ).

    As my screen is a 22", I can't see well the labels on the setup but I think I can see the SCSI device or not !

    However, at booting it displayed :

    GRUB loading - Error 2

    Maybe proxmox doesn't recognize the RAID chip ? A driver needed ?


    Thanks in advance !
     
  2. guedouarj

    guedouarj Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just found this on Silicon Image website :

    Pre-compiled Linux kernels with driver support for the SiIxxxx SATA controller chips can be found on the Linux ATA development site: http://kernel.org/. You must use a kernel version of 2.4.18-14 or later to have SATA support for the SiI3x12. More recent kernel support SiI3114, SiI3124, and SiI3132. If your distribution already uses a current kernel , please use the SiIxxxx driver included with the dsitribution.

    Maybe it can help ?
     
  3. guedouarj

    guedouarj Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,009
    Likes Received:
    49
    #4 tom, Jun 2, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011
  5. guedouarj

    guedouarj Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,


    Thank you for your reply, what do you mean by "single driver" ?

    If this card doesn't work, then I will look for another one but what's the cheapest raid card which is compatible with proxmox ? I'm asking this because we don't need something really strong ( we will run like 5-6 VM ) but we need raid for backup and performances...

    It will be good to make a raid cards comparability list that works with Proxmox.
     
  6. willy1009

    willy1009 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    if you want performances and reliability, the cheapest card isn't a good solution.

    I suppose y ou want create a raid 5 array with this card, in this case a hardware controler offer more performance and reliability than a cheapest card.

    remember that your vm and your data depend on this card, you must buy a better card, it's very important.
     
  7. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,009
    Likes Received:
    49
    raid is not backup, this is a common misunderstanding - these are two completely different things.

    I already sent you a link to good card - if you calculate TCO over 5 years this is one of the best - you do not need to replace the BBU after few years as its flash.
     
  8. guedouarj

    guedouarj Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. guedouarj

    guedouarj Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a little precision, I just want to make a RAID 0 with 2 Raptor 150 GB.

    That's why I don't a need the best raid card, just one medium-range card which is proxmox compatible...


    Thx
     
  10. willy1009

    willy1009 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    a RAID0 with your vm and data, it's too dangerous, if one of your disk crash, you can't recover your data, do you know that ?
     
  11. guedouarj

    guedouarj Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I know it, that's why I have a NAS connected to the network that doing the backup of the VM...

    The config looks like this :

    2 * Raptor 150 GB for application servers and database. ( RAID 0 )
    1 * 1 To HDD for mail and data storage ( no RAID )

    I have to add the second HDD on proxmox as dir for VM. Of course the backup will be done.

    I need RAID 0 for performances for the I/O delay is important and fast HDD are recommended. ( I don't need it for data or email )
     
  12. willy1009

    willy1009 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok i think adaptec 5805 controler card is the best choice you can do, but if you want take another card like 2820SA why not but your performance will be not the same.

    The main subject isn't your environnemet, but if i was at your place, i create a raid 10 with 4 disk, performance and sécurity of your system will be better. But like Tom has said Raid is not a backup.
     
  13. guedouarj

    guedouarj Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's why I'm asking for the proxmox comptability before buying the card adaptec 2820SA.
     
  14. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,009
    Likes Received:
    49
    just to note, the 2820SA is an old PCI-X card, 5805 are pci-e. No modern PC/Server got´s a PCI-X slot nowadays.
     
  15. guedouarj

    guedouarj Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally bought the Adaptec 2405 which is pci-express, u have right Tom, the other card was too old and not compatible with my motherboard.


    Thank you all for your help !
     

Share This Page