PXE 5.3: No Network on Host

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Networking and Firewall' started by bytegetter, Dec 8, 2018 at 17:33.

  1. bytegetter

    bytegetter New Member

    Joined:
    Saturday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,


    I installed a fresh Debian (9.6) and installed PXE 5.3 over it.

    After adding vmbr0 to /etc/network/interfaces the host has no working internet connection.

    bytegetter@zotacproxmox:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
    source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    iface enp2s0 inet manual

    auto vmbr0
    iface vmbr0 inet static
    address 192.168.200.9
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.200.1
    bridge_ports enp2s0
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0

    bytegetter@zotacproxmox:~$ ip r
    default via 192.168.200.1 dev enp2s0
    192.168.200.0/24 dev enp2s0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.200.9
    192.168.200.0/24 dev vmbr0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.200.9
    bytegetter@zotacproxmox:~$ ip a
    1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    2: enp2s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast master vmbr0 state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:01:2e:83:61:37 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.200.9/24 brd 192.168.200.255 scope global enp2s0
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    3: enp3s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:01:2e:83:61:36 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    4: wlp1s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:e1:8c:60:7c:af brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    5: vmbr0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:01:2e:83:61:37 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.200.9/24 brd 192.168.200.255 scope global vmbr0
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    bytegetter@zotacproxmox:~$ ping 192.168.200.1
    PING 192.168.200.1 (192.168.200.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From 192.168.200.9 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    ^C
    --- 192.168.200.1 ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 0 received, +1 errors, 100% packet loss, time 2017ms

    bytegetter@zotacproxmox:~$


    Whats wrong?

    Bytegetter
     
  2. Stoiko Ivanov

    Stoiko Ivanov Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    32
    did you reboot after editing `/etc/network/interfaces` ?
    It seems like there is an ip configured on enp2s0, which is joined on vmbr0 - this won't work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. bytegetter

    bytegetter New Member

    Joined:
    Saturday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, of course, I rebootet the machine.

    With
    iface enp2s0 inet static
    address 192.168.200.9
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.200.1
    and no vmbr0 the machine is reachable.

    Changing the configuration and rebooting gives a non reachable machine. I´ve tried this 3 days long and can´t get it work..
     
  4. Stoiko Ivanov

    Stoiko Ivanov Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    32
    This says, that 192.168.200.9/24 is configured on enp2s0, which conflicts with the same configuration on vmbr0 - the question is where the ip on enp2s0 gets set - do you have any files in `/etc/network/interfaces.d` ?
    Else - maybe try to grep in /etc for 192.168.200.9
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. bytegetter

    bytegetter New Member

    Joined:
    Saturday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, this is courios.

    On all of my machines is an IP on the hardware-interface and the bridge interface (ok, none of the machines is stable).

    Interfaces.d is empty and mostly removed in /etc/network/interfaces.

    root@zotacproxmox:/etc/network# ls -la if-up.d
    insgesamt 36
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Dez 7 21:18 .
    drwxr-xr-x 7 root root 4096 Dez 9 00:10 ..
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 902 Dez 3 12:13 bridgevlan
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 409 Dez 3 12:13 bridgevlanport
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1741 Sep 27 2016 ifenslave
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 236 Dez 3 12:13 mtu
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 972 Mär 1 2018 openssh-server
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1117 Feb 23 2018 postfix
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1483 Jun 2 2015 upstart
    root@zotacproxmox:/etc/network#

    I´ve installed a standard debian 9.6 netinstall (for hardware-encryption) and installed proxmox after this.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice