Proxmox VE 2.0 beta released!

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by martin, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. martin

    martin Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    359
    Hi all!

    We just released our first Proxmox VE 2.0 beta (ISO)!

    Based on the experience with our stable Proxmox VE 1.x series (available since more than 3 years, more than 20.000 installations) we created a complete new architecture to remove all limitations of the current 1.x releases. A big Thank-you to our active community for all feedback, testing, bug reporting and patch submissions.

    As a commitment to Free Software (FOSS), we also opened today the code repository (git) and bug tracker for the 2.x code base for all.

    As more or less everything is new, its quite impossible to list all in a short announcement so I just add important links:

    Overview
    http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Roadmap#Roadmap_for_2.x

    Documentation (work in progress)
    http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Category:Proxmox_VE_2.0

    Get involved (incl. links to the public git repository and bugzilla bugtracker):
    http://www.proxmox.com/products/proxmox-ve/get-involved

    Proxmox VE 2.0 beta forum
    http://forum.proxmox.com

    Download
    http://www.proxmox.com/downloads/proxmox-ve/17-iso-images

    Happy testing, waiting for feedback!
    __________________
    Best regards,

    Martin Maurer
    Proxmox VE project leader
     
  2. zatmania

    zatmania New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    first at all, thanks for your work !

    Is it a way to update from proxmox 1.9 without reinstalling all the system ?

    zat
     
  3. alain

    alain Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Zatmania,

    Remember it is a beta version, not ready for production. It would not be advisable to upgrade a production system to Proxmox 2.0 beta.
    If your Proxmox 1.9 is a test machine, it is possible to backup your VMs, and reinstall from scratch with 2.0...

    Just my advice.

    Alain
     
  4. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,538
    Likes Received:
    404
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. macday

    macday Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you so much...

    ...the long wait is over ;)

    greetings
    macday
     
  6. aba3k

    aba3k New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks
    Is HA available for kvm guests?
     
  7. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,538
    Likes Received:
    404
    not with 'one click' via gui but more or less all components are there.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. aba3k

    aba3k New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tom,

    There are a 'how to' at moment to deploy HA?
     
  9. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,458
    Likes Received:
    310
    Well, the components are there, but the resource agents for rgmanager are still missing.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. aba3k

    aba3k New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    One more question: will be available in the next beta?
     
  11. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,458
    Likes Received:
    310
    I will be available in 2.0 (final)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. jekader

    jekader Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to the proxmox team for finally letting us try PVE 2! Downloading the iso, can't wait to give it a try!
     
  13. p3x-749

    p3x-749 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Proxmox Team,

    as I recall from previous announcements, there was a LXC feature for V2.x floating around somewhere.
    This seems to have dropped from the roadmap, listed above.

    I'd appreciate if someone from the team could clarify things a bit.
    My UC in this is, that AFAIK a LXC, compared to VZ based solution, would allow for using more filesystems (reiserfs, in my case) inside the Container.

    TIA!

    regards,
    p3x-749
     
  14. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,538
    Likes Received:
    404
    there is no LXC in 2.0, not in beta and not in stable.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,458
    Likes Received:
    310
    AFAIK LXC still not have any FS quota (not even on ext3/ext4).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. p3x-749

    p3x-749 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    tom, dietmar,

    ...thanks for the info regarding LXC...too bad IMHO, but I understand that for the
    majority of UC OpenVZ is still a better solution.
     
  17. chrisalavoine

    chrisalavoine Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    First off congrats on the 2.0 beta release!
    Have done a test install on a crappy old Dell 780 desktop and it installed first time, was up and running in a matter of minutes and after half an hour I'd setup my first Ubuntu 10.04 KVM guest. Considering the age and lack of specs on the host it all seems very snappy. Next, am gonna try plugging this into our 2 x PS4000XV Equalogic SAN cluster and see how that goes.
    Well done guys.

    c:)
     
  18. chrisalavoine

    chrisalavoine Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have noticed that the backup/restore function is disabled in the web gui. Does qmrestore and vzdump still work ok from the CLI?

    c:)
     
  19. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,458
    Likes Received:
    310
    I guess there are still problems - I will try to update vzdump next week.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. rmoglia

    rmoglia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    I´m migrate my machines to a new host so i´m concerned with Debian 5.0 cycle now sets as old stable distro.
    Unfortunately i can´t migrate to 2.0 now :( need install 1.9 with Lenny base system again.
    I don´t no how many time the debian security team will be support 5.0.
    I´m verry happy with 1.9 and have all features i want. 2.0 Will Be Plus more resources but any plan to update 1.9 bases if 2.0 not ready for prodution on 5.0 end cycle?

    I don´t have much money but i´m a web developer and have a intermediary admin linux skills. I can help with anyting testing or another thing?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice