Proxmox Subscription Costs

bobmc

Renowned Member
May 17, 2018
Hi

Firstly, I'd like to say I've been using Proxmox for about 2 years now - as a 'free' user at home - and I'm very grateful that the developers make such a great product available, and I am also grateful that the developers often respond to community posts - something that really doesn't happen too much in other 'community' forums.

So, given all this Proxmox love, I would really like to show my appreciation by buying a subscription particularly as I'm about to install a new proxmox server this year.

However, I'm finding it difficult to justify the cost to myself as a home user and I wondered if some feedback and discussion as to the current pricing model would be appropriate or welcome?

Hi,

Same situation here, i use proxmox for abouts 8 months i'm happy with it even if i got some problems...

Anyway i'll be glad to get some subscription but i use proxmox just as a home server and for me the cost is expensive even if i would like to participate, i can't afford a subscription.

Keep the great works guy and thank you

buying a subscription is not the only way to support us, you can find and debug bugs/errors, you can help other users in the forum/on the mailing lists or you could write code and send it to the pve-devel mailing list
(see https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Developer_Documentation)

all of those options are good ways to contribute

Well I have finally joined the forum after lurking for quite some time and in future, I will try to help and comment where I can :)

But I would still suggest you consider your pricing model especially to encourage home-lab users

In my opinion, for home users, you could have two levels of subscription.