Proxmox Network configuration with two switches and storage

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Networking and Firewall' started by kinetica, May 14, 2018.

  1. kinetica

    kinetica New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    we are testing a new configuration (adding much redundancy) but we are not sure about network configuration. Our Set-up is:
    - two servers with one 1Gbit network card
    - Plus One 10Gbit network card with two ports (for the storage back-end)
    - Two storage QNAP with One 10Gbit network card with two ports
    - Two switches 10Gbit ports

    We are not sure, in this network "Star Topology with 2 switches" the right network card configuration.
    We do know if is correct to use a bonding configuration and if yes, witch one have to be used.
    The same question apply to the switches
    Any suggestion is appreciated
    thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  2. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,589
    Likes Received:
    212
    Hi,

    I would use a bond with active-backup mode.
     
  3. kinetica

    kinetica New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank a million! I will go for it.
    cheers!
     
  4. kinetica

    kinetica New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Wolfgang,
    i'm sorry to bother you again, the bond with active-backup work fine: even with one switch switched off I always PING from Proxmox to the Storage QNAP! However I am having a different issue probably connected with my poor understanding on networking theory.
    When I try to add the storage (NFS or iSCSI) from the bond 10Gbit network card (LAN 10.10.10.0 vmbr1/bond0) , I am not able to see the QNAP storage. To see the QNAP storage I need to connect it with 1Gbit Network card (LAN 192.168.0.0 vmbr0). I am sending you a screenshot of the net configuration.
    Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  5. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,589
    Likes Received:
    212
    You need no vmbr, just assign the IP to the bond.

    If you can ping it you would guess it is a QNAP setup problem.
    Are you sure you allowed the 10.10.10.0 network to access the NFS server?
     
  6. kinetica

    kinetica New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you again. You are right. Something wrong with the QNAP, but not with the configuration that I checked many times and it is ok.
    The strange thing is that if I disconnect/connect QNAP network 1Gbit, (LAN 192.168.0.0) the NFS service start not responding on Proxmox,
    even if the NFS QNAP storage is connected on Proxmox via LAN 10.10.10.0 (network card 10Gbit).
    In this scenario I need to restart the NFS service on QNAP. Basically if the 1Gbit network card (or the switch) go down the NFS service on the other network 10Gbit stop to communicate with Proxmox.

    But this is another story not related with the ultrastable Proxmox environment.....
    thank you very much Wolfgang
    cheers
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice