Proxmox Intel Iris XE Graphic Passthrough (Core i7-1165G7)

RNab

Jun 20, 2021
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to proxmox and virtualisation in general. I have setup some VM, one of them being my media center that is working absolutely fine in DirectPlay.
For transcoding, it's definitely not :)

I have a NUC11, with a Core-i7-1165G7 and IRIS XE graphic.

I've been trying to figure out how to passthrough the intel iris xe graphic to my VM but i've struggled to find a way to do that.

I've followed this step by step : https://blog.ktz.me/passthrough-intel-igpu-with-gvt-g-to-a-vm-and-use-it-with-plex/

But got stuck at the last past, where "ls /sys/bus/pci/devices/0000\:00\:02.0/mdev_supported_types/" returns an empty results. So not sure what to do to fix it, or what to do next. Not even sure if that step by step is relevant for my setup.

Would you guys be able to advise what to do to get there ?

Happy to provide any information required.

Thanks for the read/help.

Yes indeed. This is actually what’s described in the tutorial as well. But no luck.
I have read somewhere that Intel doesn’t support gvt-g with the 11th gen proc.

Also, i've check lspci, and I get the following for device 00:02.0 :

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Device 9a49 (rev 01) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: Intel Corporation Device 3004
Flags: fast devsel, IRQ 16
Memory at 603c000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]

Memory at 4000000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
I/O ports at 3000
[virtual] Expansion ROM at 000c0000 [disabled] [size=128K]

Capabilities: [40] Vendor Specific Information: Len=0c <?>
Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [ac] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable+ 64bit-
Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [100] Process Address Space ID (PASID)
Capabilities: [200] Address Translation Service (ATS)
Capabilities: [300] Page Request Interface (PRI)