Proxmox Firewall with NAT and portforwarding.

Nicolai

Jun 1, 2019
I have a proxmox pve setup, that hosts some containers.
The PVE has 1 public IP, and everything behind it should be portforwarded.
So I setup a Linux bridge, that bridges vmbr0 to a local NAT.
Now I want to put in a few basic rules. Everything besides the Webinterface should be closed down from outside (if something really needs to be open, I will open it though).
I don't need ssh as I can get a Shell through my Provider.
I also want to forward some ports for Servers in the Network behind it.
Here comes the problem, I am not very good at networking. I have a basic understanding and that's it.
I read up a little bit about the topic, and heard a lot of stuff. For Example some people suggest not using Iptables and the Proxmox Firewall at the same time, but the Proxmox Webinterface for the Firewall seems so limited :/
there being multiple layers of firewall doesn't help it, I am so confused. Where do my rules go ? Do I first have to enable them on Datacenter and then on Node level ? The Datacenter doesn't have any specific Interfaces, so how does that work ?
Also when I setup the Datacenter wide Firewall and add rules to open up 8006, there seems to be a squid-http on port 3128 open, is that wanted/needed ?
And to add to the mess, when I setup my iptables on the node, my Container can't even talk to the internet :/ At least not outwards.

Can someome give me a crash course, would be nice :D

I have a proxmox pve setup, that hosts some containers.
The PVE has 1 public IP, and everything behind it should be portforwarded.
So I setup a Linux bridge, that bridges vmbr0 to a local NAT.
Now I want to put in a few basic rules. Everything besides the Webinterface should be closed down from outside (if something really needs to be open, I will open it though).
I don't need ssh as I can get a Shell through my Provider.
I also want to forward some ports for Servers in the Network behind it.