Proxmox and Q-in-Q

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by BoringASK, Oct 15, 2018.

  1. BoringASK

    BoringASK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,

    I need to host a VM Pfsense on a Proxmox server to make a firewall.

    The prerequisite is that the VM distributes the network over a dozen VLANs within a Q-in-Q.

    So the VM has to have access to the Q-inQ, I tried this setup:

    - Trunk tag of several VLANs on the second interface of my Proxmox server

    - Creation of a VMBR interface with as bridge port: eth1.324 (Taking into account that my VLAN Q-in-Q is 324) Capture d’écran 2018-10-15 à 22.45.26.png
    - Adding an interface on the VM of the VMBR carrying the VLAN 324 by adding a TAG on the VM interface
    Capture d’écran 2018-10-15 à 22.45.35.png

    But it doesn't seem to be working. I have seen several threads but I can't find the right solution.

    Do you have any idea? I have attached 2 screenshot

    B.A
     
  2. spirit

    spirit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    135
    Hi, it should work, but they are 2 kind of stacked vlan.

    802.1q (vm) on 802.1q (transport)
    and
    802.1q(vm) on 802.1ad (transport)


    By default 802.1q vlan are created.


    I'm currently working on ifupdown2 package for proxmox (apt-get install ifupdown2, replace current ifupdown script),
    where you can defined vlan-protocol in /etc/network/interfaces

    iface vmbrxxx
    .....
    vlan-protocol 802.1ad
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. BoringASK

    BoringASK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your answer, however when I want to install ifupdown2 I have a block because APT wants to remove proxmox :
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    The following additional packages will be installed:
    python-argcomplete
    Suggested packages:
    python-gvgen python-mako
    The following packages will be REMOVED:
    ifenslave ifupdown proxmox-ve pve-manager
    The following NEW packages will be installed:
    ifupdown2 python-argcomplete
    0 upgraded, 2 newly installed, 4 to remove and 62 not upgraded.
    Need to get 0 B/183 kB of archives.
    After this operation, 8581 kB disk space will be freed.
    Do you want to continue? [Y/n]
     
  4. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    327
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. BoringASK

    BoringASK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a typing error on the repo it actually works. The configuration is in place but obviously I still can't get my Q-inQ to work with the following configuration:

    Capture d’écran 2018-10-16 à 11.30.08.png
     
  6. spirit

    spirit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    135
    sorry, my mistake.

    vlan-protocol need to be defined on eth1.324 interface

    iface eth1.324
    ....
    vlan-protocol 802.1ad
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice