Proxmox 5.2 and Host ping connection lost

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Networking and Firewall' started by jcarnus, Jun 11, 2018.

  1. jcarnus

    jcarnus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I have a fully working proxmox 5.2 running container LXC without issue
    The server is hosted on OVH and I use the ping to monitor if the server goes well.
    Few days ago, I received some false warning of this because suddently the host is not responding anymore to the PING. I've checked all iptables rules and there is no restriction for this
    I just would like to know someone has some tips to debug / investigate/ resolved this
    Thanks
     
  2. Alwin

    Alwin Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    110
    If you can't ping the machine from a different connection, then get in touch with OVH, they are the only ones that can help you here.
     
  3. jcarnus

    jcarnus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    Sorry maybe I didnt explain well the issue. I can ping the machine (host) without issue) 99.5% of time. But there is a very small percentage of ping loss. At the beginning, I was thinking this was hardware or network, but If I only setup a debian 9, I dont have this issue. So for me, there is something under proxmox 5.2 that is freezing/loosing network some time to time
     
  4. Alwin

    Alwin Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    110
    What version are you running (pveversion -v)? Does it help to change the kernel?
     
  5. Bent

    Bent New Member

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you using OVH's built-in monitoring? Because their monitoring is definitely not the best one out there and can easily show false positives.

    Additionally using 'ping' to "monitor if the server goes well" is not a very reliable way to monitor things. There are more reliable way out there, Icinga2 being one of them.

    That being said, ICMP packages may get discarded on any L3 router(or switch), there is no guarantee it will be delivered. See also <HTTPS>serverfault<DOT>com/questions/297362/icmp-reliability. You can additionally run a check from your server and ping it's gateway at OVH to determine if there are internal connection issues.
     
  6. jcarnus

    jcarnus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply. Yes I am using the OVH monitoring but after investigation, i've found that I have some routing issue on the machine.
    I cannot understand why all route all duplicated.

    Please see below the routing table

    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    0.0.0.0 94.23.202.254 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
    0.0.0.0 94.23.202.254 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 vmbr0
    94.23.202.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    94.23.202.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 vmbr0

    If I remove the route on eth0, everything works well. Does anyone has an Id why this route on eth0 are added at start time ? Thanks
     
  7. jcarnus

    jcarnus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    root@proxmox:~# pveversion -v
    proxmox-ve: 5.2-2 (running kernel: 4.15.17-3-pve)
    pve-manager: 5.2-2 (running version: 5.2-2/b1d1c7f4)
    pve-kernel-4.15: 5.2-3
    pve-kernel-4.15.17-3-pve: 4.15.17-12
    corosync: 2.4.2-pve5
    criu: 2.11.1-1~bpo90
    glusterfs-client: 3.8.8-1
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.2-2
    libjs-extjs: 6.0.1-2
    libpve-access-control: 5.0-8
    libpve-apiclient-perl: 2.0-4
    libpve-common-perl: 5.0-32
    libpve-guest-common-perl: 2.0-16
    libpve-http-server-perl: 2.0-9
    libpve-storage-perl: 5.0-23
    libqb0: 1.0.1-1
    lvm2: 2.02.168-pve6
    lxc-pve: 3.0.0-3
    lxcfs: 3.0.0-1
    novnc-pve: 1.0.0-1
    proxmox-widget-toolkit: 1.0-18
    pve-cluster: 5.0-27
    pve-container: 2.0-23
    pve-docs: 5.2-4
    pve-firewall: 3.0-11
    pve-firmware: 2.0-4
    pve-ha-manager: 2.0-5
    pve-i18n: 1.0-6
    pve-libspice-server1: 0.12.8-3
    pve-qemu-kvm: 2.11.1-5
    pve-xtermjs: 1.0-5
    pve-zsync: 1.6-16
    qemu-server: 5.0-28
    smartmontools: 6.5+svn4324-1
    spiceterm: 3.0-5
    vncterm: 1.5-3
    zfsutils-linux: 0.7.9-pve1~bpo9
     
  8. jcarnus

    jcarnus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jun 14 16:02:24 proxmox systemd[1]: Starting Raise network interfaces...
    Jun 14 16:02:25 proxmox ifup[1926]: interface dummy0 does not exist!
    Jun 14 16:02:25 proxmox ifup[1926]: Waiting for vmbr1 to get ready (MAXWAIT is 2 seconds).
    Jun 14 16:02:25 proxmox ifup[1926]: Waiting for vmbr0 to get ready (MAXWAIT is 2 seconds).
    Jun 14 16:02:26 proxmox ifup[1926]: RTNETLINK answers: File exists
    Jun 14 16:02:26 proxmox ifup[1926]: ifup: failed to bring up vmbr0
    Jun 14 16:02:26 proxmox systemd[1]: networking.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
    Jun 14 16:02:26 proxmox systemd[1]: Failed to start Raise network interfaces.
    Jun 14 16:02:26 proxmox systemd[1]: networking.service: Unit entered failed state.
    Jun 14 16:02:26 proxmox systemd[1]: networking.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
     
  9. jcarnus

    jcarnus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    With debian 9, I have an issue where eth0 (or other) and vmbr0 get the IP assigned. This is what is troubling the routing table

    2: enp3s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast master vmbr0 state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 08:60:6e:e5:c0:47 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.99.7.148/24 brd 192.99.7.255 scope global enp3s0
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    3: vmbr0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 08:60:6e:e5:c0:47 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.99.7.148/24 brd 192.99.7.255 scope global vmbr0
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 2607:5300:60:3894::/64 scope global
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fe80::a60:6eff:fee5:c047/64 scope link
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
     
  10. Bent

    Bent New Member

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    mind posting your config in:
    Code:
    /etc/network/interfaces
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice