Proxmox 5.1 2 Node HA Cluster

Haider

Mar 7, 2018
Hello all,

I am new to proxmox community. I have 2 proxmox clusters with 2 nodes each setup with ceph storage in same local network with Public IPs.

Recently one node on one of the cluster died but the secondary node on that cluster did not bring up the VMs.

I have done all the research and I am unable to find a way to have HA for a 2 node cluster. I want to be able to have 2 node HA cluster if one node dies the other one still brings up VMs.

Please advise.

root@hosting:~# pvecm status

Quorum information

------------------

Date: Wed Mar 7 15:55:22 2018

Quorum provider: corosync_votequorum

Nodes: 2

Node ID: 0x00000001

Ring ID: 1/9180

Quorate: Yes

Votequorum information

----------------------

Expected votes: 2

Highest expected: 2

Total votes: 2

Quorum: 2

Flags: Quorate

Membership information

----------------------

Nodeid Votes Name

0x00000001 1 192.168.1.116 (local)

0x00000002 1 192.168.1.117

Last night when I node failed I checked the other node it said something about waiting for Quorum. I had to manually power cycle 1st node bring cluster and VMs back up.

Sure , that is expected:
Expected votes: 2

So you need at least 2 votes for quorum.

For HA you _need_ at least 3 nodes.

My personal opinion: put all 4 nodes into _one_ cluster.
If you like to run this two separate clusters, then you have two possibilities:

-> best solution : add a additional 3rd node to both clusters

-> tricky solution:

put up a virtual proxmox server on both clusters and make it the 3rd node for the other cluster:

cluster1: node1 + node2 + virtualnode1 (running on cluster2)
cluster2: node3 + node4 + virtualnode2 (running on cluster1)

It should be obvious that the virtualnode is just for quorom and should not run VM's. It should also be obvious why virtual node for cluster 1 must run on cluster 2 and not on cluster 1 (and vice versa)