Proxmox 4.2 DRBD: Node does not reconnect after reboot/connection loss

Jospeh Huber

Apr 18, 2016
Hello all,

I am new to DRBD but not new to ProxMox ;-)
We have a 3 Node DRBD9 Cluster setup with Proxmox 4.2 like it is described in the Wiki article here https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/DRBD9.
MyVersions: proxmox-ve: 4.2-64 (running kernel: 4.4.16-1-pve),drbdmanage: 0.97-1

The drbd9 storage is available and I have two LXC containers with HA in it. HA-Migration and Fail-Over works as expected.
But if one node gets restarted or a connection loss happens it never connects to DRDB again.
I have also setup the "post-up drbdadm adjust all" in /etc/network/interfaces.
In the Wiki is described that a "drbdadm adjust all or drbdadm adjust-with-progress all" should do the job... but not for me. It does nothing even if it is manualy invoked
Also, I did not find anything here https://www.drbd.org/en/doc/users-guide-90/s-node-failure.
If I recreate the VMs out of a backup everything is fine again, but I think this is not the way to solve the problem ;-)

Any ideas?

P.S. My plan is, when problem is solved, to operate some smaller Testsystems and if it works i like to use it in production.

Here some data:

Code:
root@vmhost2:~# drbd-overview
  0:.drbdctrl/0      Connected(3*)                       Secondary(3*)                             UpTo(vmhost2)/UpTo(vmhost5,vmhost1)
  1:.drbdctrl/1      Connected(3*)                       Secondary(3*)                             UpTo(vmhost2)/UpTo(vmhost5,vmhost1)
100:vm-108-disk-1/0  Conn(vmhost5,vmhost2)/C'ng(vmhost1) Prim(vmhost2)/Unkn(vmhost1)/Seco(vmhost5) UpTo(vmhost2)/Inco(vmhost1)/UpTo(vmhost5)
101:vm-132-disk-1/0  Conn(vmhost2,vmhost5)/C'ng(vmhost1) Seco(vmhost2)/Unkn(vmhost1)/Prim(vmhost5) UpTo(vmhost2)/Inco(vmhost1)/UpTo(vmhost5)

root@vmhost1:~#  drbdmanage list-nodes
+---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+