Problem: web interface not working when installing with options 'linux maxroot'

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by ronpeled, Dec 3, 2013.

  1. ronpeled

    ronpeled New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm installing the latest proxox (3.1) on a clean server. When I install it as-is there are no issues and the web interface is working once the install process is done and I reboot. However, when I set special parameters 'linux maxroot=20' it goes through the installation successfully but the web interface does not work. Pointing the browser to it will bring a Error code: ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE message.

    Login in via SSH and running the command:
    Code:
    pveproxy --debug
    unable to create socket - IO::Socket::INET: Address already in use
    
    How can this be resolved? or am I stuck with default root partition?

    Thank you!
     
  2. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    395
    a bit late, but did you manage it already?

    if not, post the output of:

    > cat /proc/mounts

    and

    > pveversion -v
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ronpeled

    ronpeled New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    This issue still exists. I was able to trace it better. It relates to SSL certificates and browsers caching it. So, I'm no expert on SSL and how browsers use it but whenever I reinstalled Proxmox - it essentially created new SSL certificates. So when I visit the site again <ip address>:8006 the browser shows a window with an error message:
    No data received

    if you click the 'More' button (in chrome) you see: Unable to load the webpage because the server sent no data.Error code: ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE

    Initially I thought it was only Chrome but it affects any browser. Clearing the cache and history does not fix the issue.


     
  4. chrism

    chrism New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    3
    I know this is an old thread and was probably solved ages ago, but I had almost exactly the same problem and google brought me here. I've now fixed it and thought it might help others if I shared.

    The problem I found is because of cookies, not SSL certificates. Proxmox uses a cookie called PVEAuthCookie, which is fundamental to the secure connection to Proxmox. I found that Chrome had an old version of this relating to my previous Proxmox installation. Deleting this cookie solved the problem.

    For Chrome users there are two ways to find and delete this cookie:
    1) Click on the padlock to the left of "https:" in the address bar, in the popup select the "Persmissions" tab, then click on "Show cookies and site data". In the new popup expand the arrow for your Proxmox server address (ie 192.168.1.11 for me) and then the Cookies folder. You should see a PVEAuthCookie cookie which you can select to show the date and then Remove if necessary.
    2) Settings, Show Advanced Settings, Privacy/Content Settings..., in popup Cookies/All cookies and site data..., then select your Proxmox server address in the list on the left, or search for it. Click on the cross on the right to remove cookies.
     
  5. JustaGuy

    JustaGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you _SO_ much for posting this. Apparently when I 'Clear browsing data', even selecting 'cookies', in Chrome, it didn't remove that cookie you mentioned. Manually deleting it solved my problem. Huge relief!
     
  6. daemonizer

    daemonizer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kudos ChrisM, such a stupid little thing ... you bailed me out.
     
  7. Logan_Rocks

    Logan_Rocks Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,516
    Likes Received:
    318
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Logan_Rocks

    Logan_Rocks Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its getting the same error when i do https. ill delete that screen sho tthanks for letting me know.
     
  10. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,516
    Likes Received:
    318
    try another browser or delete the cache, and check if the time is correct
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Logan_Rocks

    Logan_Rocks Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Logan_Rocks

    Logan_Rocks Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    nvm browser clearing worked. Thanks for your help dcsapak!! :D
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice