Problem installing Win10-VM on Proxmox 5.2-8

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by ChESch, Sep 2, 2018.

  1. ChESch

    ChESch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello out there!

    I tried to install Windows 10 April 2018 Update on an AMD Ryzen 3-machine with Proxmox 5.2-8 installed. I checked various guides on the internet, but could not find a solution for my problem. Every time I start the VM and want to connect via noVNC, I get an error (see picture below). I tried using SPICE, but the Viewer just states connection established without ever showing any picture. I hope somebody knows what to do!

    Thanks in advance,
    ChESch

    upload_2018-9-2_13-54-7.png
     
  2. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,759
    Likes Received:
    223
    Hi,
    Is the VM running?
    For Windows with Ryzen CPU, you should use "qemu64" as CPU type for the VM config.
     
  3. ChESch

    ChESch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there,
    yes, VM is running, starts without any error-message.
    I've tested with qemu64 now, the result is still the same, noVNC fails to connect.
     
  4. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    226
    can you post the vm config ?
     
  5. ChESch

    ChESch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hope you mean this pieces of information.

    upload_2018-9-4_20-56-2.png

    upload_2018-9-4_20-56-35.png

    agent: 1
    bootdisk: virtio0
    cores: 2
    cpu: qemu64
    ide2: local:iso/Win10_1803_English_x64.iso,media=cdrom
    memory: 4096
    name: Win10-Jump-Server
    net0: virtio=F6:C6:40:95:7F:29,bridge=vmbr0
    numa: 0
    ostype: win10
    sata0: local:iso/virtio-win-0.1.141.iso,media=cdrom,size=309208K
    scsihw: virtio-scsi-pci
    smbios1: uuid=7fe5a417-7972-4b5f-b4ec-2c8d31f204b0
    sockets: 1
    virtio0: local-lvm:vm-400-disk-1,size=40G
     
  6. ChESch

    ChESch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anybody help me please? I've watched various guides, and they all just start the VM and noVNC works without Problems... And I still have no idea why it does not work for me...
     
  7. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    226
    what does the console task log say?
     
  8. ChESch

    ChESch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    It says OK, you can take a look at the screenshots


    upload_2018-9-10_21-55-6.png

    upload_2018-9-10_21-55-21.png
     

    Attached Files:

  9. ChESch

    ChESch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, i just tried another tutorial, and I haven't had any success yet. The machine always starts up without any error, but noVNC just does not connect to the VM. I have tried numerous configurations now, different architectures, UEFI and BIOS, but I still have no success.

    It would be really kind if anybody can help me!
     
  10. ChESch

    ChESch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK i just discovered something. I have an Proxmox Cluster, and I created the VM with the IP from an different node than where the VM is running. When connecting to the exact machine where Windows is running, i can connect via noVNC.
     
  11. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    226
    ok, so try to ssh from one node to the other and see what the problem is
    Code:
    node1# ssh -o 'BatchMode=yes' IPOFNODE2
    
    also check if you allow the LC_* environment to pass between nodes in the ssh_config and sshd_config (this is needed for the novnc ticket)
     
  12. ChESch

    ChESch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is no error when connecting to the second node.
    Do you mean the command called SendEnv LC... and AcceptEnv LC...?
    Only on the second node, the command AcceptEnv was commented out, and after uncommenting it, it works now, thank you.
    Did I comment this myself sometimes or is this not automatically set by proxmox?
     
  13. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    226
    this is the default setup of the config files and we do not change them, so if this was commented, this must have been done by you or a package you installed
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice