problem after update - pvestatd look for control socket

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by zvn, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. zvn

    zvn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    XXXXXXXX pvestatd[109381]: WARNING: unable to connect to VM 100 socket - No such file or directory

    for all VM after an update

    # pvestatd -v
    USAGE: /usr/bin/pvestatd [--debug]

    hmm

    Is it Possible to create the socket without restarting the vms ?
     
  2. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,400
    Likes Received:
    294
    What is the output of:

    # pveversion -v
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. zvn

    zvn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0

    root:~# pveversion -v
    pve-manager: 2.1-12 (pve-manager/2.1/be112d89)
    running kernel: 2.6.32-12-pve
    proxmox-ve-2.6.32: 2.1-72
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-11-pve: 2.6.32-66
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-13-pve: 2.6.32-72
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-12-pve: 2.6.32-68
    lvm2: 2.02.95-1pve2
    clvm: 2.02.95-1pve2
    corosync-pve: 1.4.3-1
    openais-pve: 1.1.4-2
    libqb: 0.10.1-2
    redhat-cluster-pve: 3.1.92-2
    resource-agents-pve: 3.9.2-3
    fence-agents-pve: 3.1.8-1
    pve-cluster: 1.0-27
    qemu-server: 2.0-45
    pve-firmware: 1.0-17
    libpve-common-perl: 1.0-28
    libpve-access-control: 1.0-24
    libpve-storage-perl: 2.0-27
    vncterm: 1.0-2
    vzctl: 3.0.30-2pve5
    vzprocps: 2.0.11-2
    vzquota: 3.0.12-3
    pve-qemu-kvm: 1.1-6
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.1-1
     
  4. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,400
    Likes Received:
    294
    Please can you update to latest version and test again?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. zvn

    zvn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same behavior



    root@ns222594:~# pveversion -a
    Unknown option: a
    USAGE: pveversion [--verbose]
    root@ns222594:~# pveversion -v
    pve-manager: 2.1-13 (pve-manager/2.1/bdd3663d)
    running kernel: 2.6.32-12-pve
    proxmox-ve-2.6.32: 2.1-72
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-11-pve: 2.6.32-66
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-13-pve: 2.6.32-72
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-12-pve: 2.6.32-68
    lvm2: 2.02.95-1pve2
    clvm: 2.02.95-1pve2
    corosync-pve: 1.4.3-1
    openais-pve: 1.1.4-2
    libqb: 0.10.1-2
    redhat-cluster-pve: 3.1.92-2
    resource-agents-pve: 3.9.2-3
    fence-agents-pve: 3.1.8-1
    pve-cluster: 1.0-27
    qemu-server: 2.0-47
    pve-firmware: 1.0-17
    libpve-common-perl: 1.0-28
    libpve-access-control: 1.0-24
    libpve-storage-perl: 2.0-29
    vncterm: 1.0-2
    vzctl: 3.0.30-2pve5
    vzprocps: 2.0.11-2
    vzquota: 3.0.12-3
    pve-qemu-kvm: 1.1-6
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.1-1


    (it was After an update !)
     
  6. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,400
    Likes Received:
    294
    Why do you run that command?

    # pvestatd -v

    That is simple no valid command.

    Does it help if you stop the VM, and start it again?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #6 dietmar, Aug 6, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2012
  7. zvn

    zvn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    As i said i dont want to do that. I was asking , is there a way to create the control socket ewith qemu while they are up
     
  8. zvn

    zvn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    What if i link :

    /var/run/qemu-server/XXX.qmp to /var/run/qemu-server/XXX.mon
     
  9. zvn

    zvn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    failed :(
     
  10. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,400
    Likes Received:
    294
    Ok, I can see the bug now. Seems those VMs are started before we added the new control socket.

    Unfortunately, the only way I see is to restart those VMs. I guess you can still open the console? If so, do a power-down, then restart the VM.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. fandert

    fandert New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem, but an restart does not help to fix this. I only have problems with my Windows-Guest.

    Any other idea? Any workaround? The Windows-Guest won't start and i need them.

    Regards,

    f.
     
  12. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,400
    Likes Received:
    294
    You need to stop, the start the VM agian. A 'restart' does not help.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. fandert

    fandert New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    this does not help, too.

    I only have this with Windows-Guests (only 2k8 R2, W7, SBS2011) but the other Windows-Guest (W8, 2k12) or ok.
     
  14. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,400
    Likes Received:
    294
    What error do you get exactly?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. fandert

    fandert New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aug 16 11:56:53 imp02 pvedaemon[18413]: start VM 101: UPID:imp02:000047ED:000A791E:502CC3E5:qmstart:101:root@pam:
    Aug 16 11:56:53 imp02 pvedaemon[15649]: <root@pam> starting task UPID:imp02:000047ED:000A791E:502CC3E5:qmstart:101:root@pam:
    Aug 16 11:56:53 imp02 kernel: device tap101i0 entered promiscuous mode
    Aug 16 11:56:53 imp02 kernel: vmbr0: port 12(tap101i0) entering forwarding state
    Aug 16 11:56:57 imp02 pvedaemon[15649]: WARNING: unable to connect to VM 101 socket - Resource temporarily unavailable
    Aug 16 11:56:58 imp02 pvedaemon[15650]: WARNING: unable to connect to VM 101 socket - Resource temporarily unavailable
    Aug 16 11:56:59 imp02 pvedaemon[15648]: WARNING: unable to connect to VM 101 socket - Resource temporarily unavailable
    Aug 16 11:57:00 imp02 pvedaemon[15649]: WARNING: unable to connect to VM 101 socket - Resource temporarily unavailable
    Aug 16 11:57:01 imp02 pvedaemon[15649]: WARNING: unable to connect to VM 101 socket - Resource temporarily unavailable
    Aug 16 11:57:02 imp02 pvedaemon[15649]: WARNING: unable to connect to VM 101 socket - Resource temporarily unavailable
    Aug 16 11:57:03 imp02 pvedaemon[15650]: WARNING: unable to connect to VM 101 socket - Resource temporarily unavailable
    Aug 16 11:57:04 imp02 kernel: tap101i0: no IPv6 routers present
     
  16. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,400
    Likes Received:
    294
    And how do you stop that VM?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. fandert

    fandert New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    root@imp02 /var/log/pve/tasks # pveversion -v
    pve-manager: 2.1-14 (pve-manager/2.1/f32f3f46)
    running kernel: 2.6.32-14-pve
    proxmox-ve-2.6.32: 2.1-73
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-10-pve: 2.6.32-63
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-14-pve: 2.6.32-73
    lvm2: 2.02.95-1pve2
    clvm: 2.02.95-1pve2
    corosync-pve: 1.4.3-1
    openais-pve: 1.1.4-2
    libqb: 0.10.1-2
    redhat-cluster-pve: 3.1.92-3
    resource-agents-pve: 3.9.2-3
    fence-agents-pve: 3.1.8-1
    pve-cluster: 1.0-27
    qemu-server: 2.0-48
    pve-firmware: 1.0-18
    libpve-common-perl: 1.0-30
    libpve-access-control: 1.0-24
    libpve-storage-perl: 2.0-30
    vncterm: 1.0-2
    vzctl: 3.0.30-2pve5
    vzprocps: 2.0.11-2
    vzquota: 3.0.12-3
    pve-qemu-kvm: 1.1-7
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.1-1



    I open the console-windows and click on the stop-button.
     
  18. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,400
    Likes Received:
    294
    You need to login into the VM, then do a shutdown inside the VM (because stop button does not work because of the bug)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. fandert

    fandert New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can't login. console isn't working on these windows-guests. i get an "Network error:remote side closed connection"-error.
     
  20. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,400
    Likes Received:
    294
    Maybe using rdp, or ssh?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice