Poor desktop performance

posiden104

Dec 13, 2021
Hello,
I'm new to proxmox. I'm experiencing lower performance than expected from my vms, especially any with a desktop environment. I'm pretty tech savvy, but havent worked with server hardware before.

Specs:
Dell PowerEdge server
dual quad core Xeon E5410 cpus
15 GB ram 667 MHz
500 GB sata drive w/ proxmox and some vms
3 TB sata drive w/ 1 vm (media storage)

I currently have 5 ubuntu server vms running, each with 1 or 2 cpus, and around 2 GB ram. Those all run acceptably concurrently. However, any desktop environment I try to use is unusably slow, even if I shut down all the other vms. I tried both Windows 10 and Ubuntu Desktop. I also tried to run a modded minecraft server on one of my ubuntu server vms and it was extremely laggy, although I suspect that has more to do with Minecraft than proxmox.

Any advice on how to tune my vms or proxmox to be able to handle desktop environments would be extremely appreciated. If its just a case of my hw not being up to the task on integrated graphics, that would be good to know as well.

Hey,

how do you connect to the VM? And what type of network are you using? It is very possible that the problem is not the VMs but rather the network over which you connect to them.

Hey,

how do you connect to the VM? And what type of network are you using? It is very possible that the problem is not the VMs but rather the network over which you connect to them.
I usually connect using rdp from my windows 10 desktop. Both my server and desktop are plugged in with cat5 cables to my router

Hi,
are you talking about this
Code:
https://ark.intel.com/content/www/de/de/ark/products/33080/intel-xeon-processor-e5410-12m-cache-2-33-ghz-1333-mhz-fsb.html
CPUs?

What do you expect from CPUs that are nearly 15 years old?
Code:
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?cpu=Intel+Xeon+E5410+%40+2.33GHz&id=1232&cpuCount=2

They have a single-thread-rating around 1023....

Reactions: ITT