Please update kernel

galphanet

Jun 18, 2009
[SOLVED] - Please update kernel for ARC-18xx cards

Hello,

I have a ARC-1880 RAID card and I can't use it on 2.0 because the kernel is too old (2.6.32 and I need a least 2.6.36).

Is it possible to have a new kernel soon ?

Thanks you

Last edited:
Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

I'm not an expert on kernel modules..so can you explain me how to add the 18xx driver to the current kernel ?
Or give me a how to :)

Thanks again

Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

I'm not an expert on kernel modules..so can you explain me how to add the 18xx driver to the current kernel ?
Or give me a how to :)

Thanks again
Hi,
just take a deeper look:
Code:
modinfo arcmsr
filename:       /lib/modules/2.6.32-6-pve/kernel/drivers/scsi/arcmsr/arcmsr.ko
license:        Dual BSD/GPL
version:        Driver Version 1.20.0X.15.110330
description:    Areca (ARC11xx/12xx/16xx/[B]18XX[/B]) SATA/SAS RAID Host Bus Adapter Driver
author:         Nick Cheng<support@areca.com.tw>
the 18XX is supported allready - perhaps not during install? Can you install on a single hdd and see than the raid-volumes?
Is your raid-volume smaller or equal than 2TB?

There are one newer version at the areca-site 1.20.0X.15-110622 but only with small changes (debug output and compiling error).

I see not, why the driver should not work.

Udo

the 18XX is supported allready - perhaps not during install?

Install works just fine for me.
I have 13 1880ix-12 cards running on Proxmox 1.9, have not needed to custom compile drivers for a LONG time now.

I have two 1880ix-12 cards running 2.0, installed from the ISO with no problem.
Did not need to do anything special, just boot up ISO and installed to my array.

Hello,

I had to do a modproble arcmsr

When I do a lspci I see the card : 08:00.0 RAID bus controller: Areca Technology Corp. ARC-1880 8/12 port PCIe/PCI-X to SAS/SATA II RAID Controller (rev 05)

Thanks for your help :)

About