Please Help: Dedicated IP per Windows Guest - Initial Setup

victorchang

Jun 4, 2017
First, I would just like provide my most sincere and utmost level of gratitude and appreciation to the members of this community for the support and assistance they provide to fellow users. It is truly priceless and invaluable.

I am a college sophomore, Networking major, and have a fundamental understanding of what I am reading here.

My Proxmox Virtual Environment 5.0-10/0d270679 web interface is running on:
  • Primary IPv4 Address:: 218.37.77.73
  • Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
  • Gateway: 218.37.77.1
  • (not my real IP don't worry)
I have created three clones of my original windows 7 install an have done absolutely nothing to /etc/network/interfaces

I have these IPv4 addresses remaining that I lease with my dedicated server and I wish to allocate one per virtual machine and additionally contain each Windows VM guest within its own VLAN.
  • IPv4 Address Range: 218.37.77.127-130
Is it possible to give each VM its own dedicated public IPv4 while simultaneously using a (802.3ad)(LACP) bond of eno1 & eno2?, as a bridge port?

Here is my /etc/network/interfaces
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface eno1 inet manual

iface eno2 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
address 218.37.77.73
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 218.37.77.1
bridge_ports eno1
bridge_stp off
bridge_fd 0
bridge_vlan_aware yes

Obviously this isn't complete, is unfinished, "wrong", etc and isn't anywhere close to what I need for my use case as described above.

Everything I have been taught in my Networking I course aside from a fundamental understanding of computer networking & infrastructure, was related to Windows & VMWare. I have an independent and proficient understanding of linux, and have used proxmox in the past; but this is my first time setting it all up on my own and I'm in a little bit over my head.