planning new cluster

vkhera

Feb 24, 2015
Maryland, USA
I am planning a new proxmox cluster for my office network to replace a handful of aging machines. I have been running a test install of Proxmox for a couple of months with some light load. Now I'm ready to take the plunge and move everything.

The problem I'm solving by going virtual is this: I have 4 physical servers all running FreeBSD. One runs 6 FreeBSD jails. Two of the servers run Postgres databases, one runs a Jira + Confluence environment running multiple Java VMs, and the rest run our own applications written in perl with Apache. None of this is heavy duty. The older machines exhibit problems when rebooting after power outages, and this is what I want to make simple. I also want the advantages of virtual machines being easily moved among physical hosts to simplify infrastructure upgrades.

My plan (limited by budget) is to set up the following:

1 FreeNAS host for NFS backups, and to hold the ISO images. This will also serve as backups for the office desktops.
2 Proxmox servers to share the load, and allow for host migration as needed.

The proxmox hosts I'm looking to build will each have
  • 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2630v3, 2.4 GHz (8-Core, HT, 20MB)
  • 64GB ECC RAM
  • Dual Intel NIC
  • Dual Intel SSD for boot (set up in mirror)
  • 4x 2TB or 3TB data drives

I do not need automatic failover. If one box dies, I'm more than happy to spend the few minutes it takes to recover the virtual machine on the other PVE box from backup.

So my questions are these:
  1. Should I use ZFS for the data drives or should I use LVM and the upcoming 4.0 feature with DRBD replication? I can size the drives as needed if everything is mirrored.
  2. Should I use the on-board SATA controllers on the Supermicro motherboard, or get a SAS RAID card and configure it as JBOD for ZFS, or RAID10 for LVM?
  3. Will the installer let me set up the (z)mirror for the boot drive?