[SOLVED] Openwrt in proxmox

generalproxuser

Mar 14, 2021
I have tried two methods.

https://www.jwtechtips.top/how-to-install-openwrt-in-proxmox/
https://forum.openwrt.org/t/guide-run-openwrt-as-a-container-in-proxmox/44683

In the vm method openwrt does not completely boot. It gets stuck at the br-lan ready section and hangs.
In the container method the container never starts.

I have been researching and trying to get this running for about 2 months now. Does anyone possibly have any other resources that will allow me to run openwrt as a container preferably?

Many thanks.

HI generalproxuser,

Disclaimer, I'm fairly new to Proxmox and only trying to help where I can.

I wouldn't follow the 2nd container guide, although most commands are the same as Ubuntu, certain items (especially around networking).
Ubuntu default bridge name is br(-lan) while Proxmox is vmbr0, (1) etc. Also setting up networking in a container is far more difficult than in a VM, I would only try that if I was severity restricted in RAM resources.

2nd, consider if, after 2 months trying, you really need to deploy OpenWRT ? pfsense firewall is simple to setup in a Proxmox VM, it has a wazard to get you started with the basics, will perform the same tasks AND most importantly, is far better supported when you do run into difficulties.

Just something to consider.

DerekG

Derek,

Thank you for your thoughts. OpenWRT (from what I have found) has a bit more features that I want/need to use. I am familiar with containers as I have a pihole and some other small containers already running in my proxmox environment. They currently get dhcp IP off my lan so setting up their networks so far has not presented any issues to me.

Admittedly my existing containers had templates pre-existing so that made spinning them up easier.