1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OpenvSwitch setup

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by snoopel, May 2, 2014.

  1. snoopel

    snoopel New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi @all,

    Iam a new user of proxmox. I want to configure a OpenvSwitch Setup in a new proxmox installation. I have to network-interface (eth0, eth1), I want to configure these interface as active/backup bonding. I installed the openvswitch-switch package and create a new device over the GUI of proxmox. My currently interfaces looks like this:

    Code:
    # network interface settings
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    allow-vmbr1 eth1
    iface eth1 inet manual
            ovs_type OVSPort
            ovs_bridge vmbr1
    
    allow-vmbr1 eth0
    iface eth0 inet manual
            ovs_type OVSPort
            ovs_bridge vmbr1
    
    allow-vmbr1 bond0
    iface bond0 inet manual
            ovs_type OVSBond
            ovs_bridge vmbr1
            ovs_bonds eth0 eth1
            ovs_options bond_mode=active-backup
    
    iface vmbr0 inet manual
            bridge_ports none
            bridge_stp off
            bridge_fd 0
    
    auto vmbr1
    iface vmbr1 inet static
            address  192.168.0.22
            netmask  255.255.255.0
            gateway  192.168.0.1
            ovs_type OVSBridge
            ovs_ports bond0
    
    proxmox does not find vmbr1. What is wrong?
     
    #1 snoopel, May 2, 2014
    Last edited: May 2, 2014
  2. spirit

    spirit Well-Known Member
    Proxmox VE Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    64
    do you have reboot your host after update the /etc/network/interfaces ?

    also, can you send the result of the command:

    "ovs-vsctl show"
     
  3. snoopel

    snoopel New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey spirit,

    yes, I do a reboot after configuration. Now, I do the openvswitch configuration manually, ovs-vsctl add-br and ovs-vsctl add-bond.
    Code:
    root@myserv:~# ovs-vsctl show
    01b0ff45-01e2-4b28-85d5-bc91b916e04d
        Bridge "vmbr1"
            Port "vmbr1"
                Interface "vmbr1"
                    type: internal
            Port "bond0"
                Interface "eth0"
                Interface "eth1"
        ovs_version: "1.4.2"
    root@myserv:~#
    
    but the slave interfaces or bond0 interface won't be started. I can do ifup vmbr1 and ifconfig eth0 up and the vmbr1 will be working. A pure setup by the proxmox gui do not working for me! :(
     
  4. spirit

    spirit Well-Known Member
    Proxmox VE Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    64
    Try to use classic configuration for ethX interface (as you use bonding, ethX are not managed by openvswitch)


    Code:
    # network interface settings
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    
    auto eth1
    iface eth1 inet manual
    
    
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet manual
    
    
    allow-vmbr1 bond0
    iface bond0 inet manual
            ovs_type OVSBond
            ovs_bridge vmbr1
            ovs_bonds eth0 eth1
            ovs_options bond_mode=active-backup
    
    
    
    
    auto vmbr1
    iface vmbr1 inet static
            address  192.168.0.22
            netmask  255.255.255.0
            gateway  192.168.0.1
            ovs_type OVSBridge
            ovs_ports bond0
    
     

Share This Page