Noise with USB Audio DAC in Windows VM

jpbaril

Renowned Member
Feb 7, 2015
Hi,

I did passthrough an usb audio DAC to a Windows 10 VM with this in console:
device_add usb-host,vendorid=0x08bb,productid=0x2704

Windows instantly recognized the USB DAC and then sound could be heard.

But there is a "static" noise.

Here is a sample. You can hear the "tic-tic-tic......." while Obama is talking.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/w3n46fhkhpyt76g/usb-dac.m4a?dl=0

On a normal Windows, Linux or Mac machine the sound is all fine.

The system says the DAC is a Burr-Brown pcm 2704.

What I find puzzling is that both on a normal Windows and in a virtualized Windows, the driver used is "Generic USB audio".

What could be the problem?

Thank you

Hi,

hard to tell, I'm not experienced in forwarding USB DAC to windows guest, but some general things.
It sounds like an buffer under run, with pass through working in general that should not be a problem of the Proxmox host, but rather hardware or guest specific, normally.

You are sure that the hardware isn't assigned/used to/by anything else in the host?

Quoting Stefane from the qemu mailing list.

[...]
There's a third possibility if you're using the ALSA sound system on
the host. Make sure no other applications are accessing the ALSA
device. This includes PulseAudio.

I've heard weird issues like this when multiple applications use a
sound device and change settings (e.g. sample rate) at the same time.
You can use pavucontrol to disable PulseAudio on the sound device, if
necessary.

Are there vendor specific drivers available? If yes try them, although with pass through it should work on VM or physical.

You are sure that the hardware isn't assigned/used to/by anything else in the host?

How can verify? I'm not at all used with audio on Linux.

Are there vendor specific drivers available? If yes try them, although with pass through it should work on VM or physical.