Newbie need your input

aychprox

Renowned Member
Oct 27, 2015
Hi all,

I am new to Proxmox and really impressed by PVE4.0 HA and live migration of KVM VM after tested with 3 nodes.
Unfortunately my management not going to pump additional capital to invest on new full set hardware and currently we have following ready hardware:

2 x Dell C6100 4 nodes server (Dual Xeon L5640)
24GB RAM each node
2 x 120GB SSD each node
4 x 1TB 2.5" Seagate SSHD each node
2 x Dlink Gigabit switch (LAG capable)

I am planning to deploy ceph as the storage architecture to store vm and image. backup will be on NFS node which is separate 1U server.
I understand with normal gigabit interface, the bottleneck will be on the bandwidth capacity. I am thinking of network bonding by getting a quad port gigabit network card to increase the network throughput. So, total I have 6 gigabit ports per node.

2 ports bond to be 2Gb/s for NFS backup on switch 1
3 ports bond to be 3Gb/s for VM <-> ceph storage on switch 2
1 port for public network

My concern are:
1) is SSD journal will further help to increase the storage performance of SSHD?
2) is add-on quad port gigabit network card capable to help to increase the network throughput?

I would like to seek your opinion, does this configuration workable and any other area that I need to take into consideration before deploy all eight nodes to production environment.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited: