New install not using entire drive?

CGatWG

May 9, 2018
Hello all,

Returning newbie here. I installed ProxMox 5.1 on an IBM x3550 M3 rack server with a 272G RAID drive and a 134G Raid Drive. I installed it to the 134G drive.

The 134G drive (sdb) seems to appear as a 33G 'local' volume and a 76G 'local-lvm' volume in ProxMox Storage. Why does it seem that 24G is missing (lsblk below)? (33+73 != 134)
sdb 8:16 0 134.1G 0 disk
├─sdb1 8:17 0 1M 0 part
├─sdb2 8:18 0 256M 0 part /boot/efi
└─sdb3 8:19 0 133.9G 0 part
├─pve-swap 253:0 0 8G 0 lvm [SWAP]
├─pve-root 253:1 0 33.3G 0 lvm /
├─pve-data_tmeta 253:2 0 80M 0 lvm
│ └─pve-data 253:4 0 76.6G 0 lvm
└─pve-data_tdata 253:3 0 76.6G 0 lvm
└─pve-data 253:4 0 76.6G 0 lvm

Note that I am using ProxMox 5.1 because I want to test moving ESX VMs to it and then upgrade to 5.2.

Also. the 272G drive (sda) doesn't appear in ProxMox Storage web UI. I assume I will need to add it manually?

Thanks in advance

I think I've answered my question for myself, but any additional input is welcome:

I spent more time on the physical volumes, logical volumes, and group volumes. I was able to add the physical volume sda3 to the pve volume group using this:
vgextend pve /dev/sda3

As an experiment, I then resized the original local and local-lvm logical volumes as seen in ProxMox web UI:
lvextend -L+24G /dev/pve/root
lvextend -L+24G /dev/pve/data

Note: I had to do a resize2fs before the local drive showed the proper size in the web UI.
resize2fs /dev/pve/root

So in regards to my first question: I assume the missing storage was because of leaving some reserved space and how the drive was physically portioned. I might just re-install it again to determine that.

I then experimented further with creating a new logical volume that I wanted to add to ProcMox. So I created a new logical volume:

lvcreate -L 200G -T -n data2 pve

And then I added the definition for it to in /etc/pve/storage.cfg with the following:
lvmthin: local-lvm2
thinpool data2