New configuration help

JNL

Jun 16, 2016
Hello, total noob here and still i'm doing some research before going out to buy a new pc that is going to be using proxmox for:

A VM Windows 7 or 8 + SQL server with a 50GB database and 2 simultaneous users max.
&
A Ubuntu VM for OpenVPN and Samba.
or
2 Containers for TurnKey OpenVPN and TurnKey FileServer templates.

I found server hardware too expensive in Argentina (where i live) and sadly this build is mission critical for a small customer of mine...

HW:
4x Western Digital RED (RAID 10 onboard controller)
Intel I5-4690 3.50ghz
2x Corsair Value 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Mother Asus Sabertooth Z97-a (http://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/Z97AUSB_31/specifications/)
PSU Seasonic S12ii 520w

This HW was completely choosen arround the Asus Sabertooth Z97-a just becouse i found it listed here
https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Mainboards
I can get a lot more value of a 1151 Skylake build with Z170 or H170 if someone has tested it with no problems with Proxmox ve 4.2 im scared of driver issues...

I'm totally open for any kind of advice, in the hardware specs,configuration and or what to install in order to provide SQL server, OpenVPN and Samba in the more stable configuration.

Plan c is to install ubuntu + VirtualBox and a windows VM as it is running right now...

Thx in advance for any advice and to "the team" for making this great software!

I don't call it fake... but still is better than no RAID imo... maybe im wrong?

so.. no one using Skylake+PMVE? i guess im better using older more expensive HW instead...

Think about much more Ram (32+) and Softraid. I dont see it working with 2 x Windows AND MS SQL Server!

The config needs to run only one Windows VM with a small SQL DB and a Linux container/VM with OpenVPN and samba, i was thinking about using 2 containers for those last 2 services, Turnkey OpenVPN and Turnkey FileShare (Webmin).