Network Issues - relating to ifupdown2-pre.service failed

GoldenKudos

Sep 24, 2024
Hi everyone,

I am very new to all this and have come across Proxmox recently, apologies for any dumbness on my part with anything I am saying. But thank you for your help.

So i have a

Dell PowerEdge R6515 10 x 2.5" (NVMe)
1 x AMD EPYC 7H12 2.60GHz 64-Core CPU
8 x 128GB PC4-2666V-L DDR4 2S4Rx4 2666MHz ECC
PERC S150 Software RAID Controller for NVMe drives
2 x Dell NVIDIA Tesla T4 16GB HH Graphics Accelerator
1 x Dell Broadcom 57416 10Gb SFP+ DP Mezz
1 x Embedded NIC 1: Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
4 x Dell 1.92TB SSD NVMe PCle Gen4 2.5"
2 x Dell 960GB NVMe SSD 2.5" Gen3
2 x 550W Hot-Swap Power Supplies (13th & 14th Gen)
iDRAC9 Enterprise License

Network is currently my home office, switch straight in to the router, 900 up and down, no out of the ordinary setup.

I have setup the server since receiving it and done all the firmware updates, i was able to do this through Lifecycle Controller over the internet, so I know my network ports / cables etc are all working ok.

I have been through a number of iterations of installing Proxmox on here, and each time trying to work through what the issue could be, I have looked up the issue but haven’t found any answer that seems to match with the problem I am facing, so hopefully it is me being stupid.

The Issue
So on the initial install I have now noticed that it starts the install and then hangs for about 1-2 minutes, then suddenly carries on installing, and from recording the install I can now see that straight after the hanging it says ‘Timed out for waiting the dev queue being empty’ then does the final section of the install. I have attached an image for you to see.

install.jpg

I then go through the rest of the setup, it says rebooting, but never actually does that so have to do that manually through iDRAC.

When it loads up I can log in to Proxmox directly on the server with Command Line access, but the web GUI doesn’t work.