mount.nfs: Protocol not supported

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by NielsEliasen, Apr 1, 2016.

  1. NielsEliasen

    NielsEliasen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi guys
    I have a problem with nfs...
    Initially I thought this was a BSD/Linux issue... but have now dumped FreeNAS and setup a Proxmox/Debian guest with a nfs-server(even tried a plain Centos install also....) and I get consistently a "mount.nfs: Protocol not supported" ....
    I want to use NFS for the storage of a cluster installation, but getting the storage setup appears to be problematic ...
    As follows:
    root@server /home/nse# showmount -e x.y.z.x
    Export list for x.y.z.x:
    /mnt/storage1 x.y.z.0/18

    tail -1 /etc/exports
    /mnt/storage1 x.y.z.0/18(rw,fsid=0,no_subtree_check)

    root@proxmox40:~# mount.nfs -v x.y.z.x:/mnt/storage1 /mnt/nse
    mount.nfs: timeout set for Fri Apr 1 21:12:09 2016
    mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=4,addr=x.y.z.x,clientaddr=x.y.z.d'
    mount.nfs: mount(2): Protocol not supported
    mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'addr=x.y.z.x'
    mount.nfs: prog 100003, trying vers=3, prot=6
    mount.nfs: trying x.y.z.x prog 100003 vers 3 prot TCP port 2049
    mount.nfs: prog 100005, trying vers=3, prot=17
    mount.nfs: trying x.y.z.x prog 100005 vers 3 prot UDP port 40329
    mount.nfs: mount(2): Protocol not supported
    mount.nfs: Protocol not supported

    So... I am a bit confused ...
    and even doing a mount.nfs locally (on a different directory) gives me an the error ....
     
  2. bleomycin

    bleomycin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just came to say I have the exact same issue. I'm unable to mount an nfs share from the cli from literally any other nfs server i've tried. v3 or 4. Very confused...
     
  3. fireon

    fireon Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,982
    Likes Received:
    182
    So I'am right when i say you are on an PVEhost and will mount some NFS-storage? Ok, this should work out of the box. On gui and on CLI too. Have you tested on gui? https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Storage_Model
    Tested here, It works here fine.

    What kernel to you use?
    Code:
    pveversion -v
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. deludi

    deludi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I had a similar message when trying to connect a Synology nfs share from within a debian vm.
    Was used to creating nfs shares like this with Omnios+Nappit nfs targets:

    mount -t nfs 10.10.10.10:tank/vms /mnt/nfs

    Tried the same with a Synology nfs share but got a protocol error.
    After some testing i found out that an extra slash was the solution:

    mount -t nfs 10.10.10.11:/volume1/vms /mnt/nfs2 (note the extra slash behind the colon)

    Maybe you have to omit the extra slash like the omnios+nappit mount

    Regards,

    Dirk Adamsky
     
  5. NielsEliasen

    NielsEliasen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    As follows:
    nse@proxmox1:~$ pveversion -v
    proxmox-ve: 4.1-39 (running kernel: 4.2.6-1-pve)
    pve-manager: 4.1-15 (running version: 4.1-15/8cd55b52)
    pve-kernel-4.2.6-1-pve: 4.2.6-36
    pve-kernel-4.2.8-1-pve: 4.2.8-39
    lvm2: 2.02.116-pve2
    corosync-pve: 2.3.5-2
    libqb0: 1.0-1
    pve-cluster: 4.0-33
    qemu-server: 4.0-62
    pve-firmware: 1.1-7
    libpve-common-perl: 4.0-49
    libpve-access-control: 4.0-11
    libpve-storage-perl: 4.0-42
    pve-libspice-server1: 0.12.5-2
    vncterm: 1.2-1
    pve-qemu-kvm: 2.5-9
    pve-container: 1.0-46
    pve-firewall: 2.0-18
    pve-ha-manager: 1.0-24
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.2-1
    glusterfs-client: 3.5.2-2+deb8u1
    lxc-pve: 1.1.5-7
    lxcfs: 2.0.0-pve1
    cgmanager: 0.39-pve1
    criu: 1.6.0-1
    zfsutils: 0.6.5-pve7~jessie

    and I have tried mounting both using the cli and through the GUI... there is a difference in the fact that the GUI allows me to do the command.. but trying to make a backup of a VM to the NFS storage gives me an error ....(have access to the system tomorrow, so I can give the exact error-message)...
    the cli gives me the error straight away...
     
  6. Niels Eliasen

    Niels Eliasen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    and the message doing a backup trough the GUI:
    "mount error: mount.nfs: Protocol not supported (500)"
     
  7. Niels Eliasen

    Niels Eliasen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    and the extra "/" did not help either ...
     
  8. Niels Eliasen

    Niels Eliasen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok... a reboot getting the latest kernels etc did help...
    and the following link:
    https://www.howtoforge.com/install_nfs_server_and_client_on_debian_wheezy
    and the last tip to set "fsid=2" .....
    However ---- what "fsid=2" exactly does is beyond me.. apart from the fact that the export then can be mounted as nfsv4 .....
    but if anyone can shed some light on this ... then I'll be more than grateful!
     
  9. fireon

    fireon Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,982
    Likes Received:
    182
    Sorry, have similar config. On every nfsserver this is the first line, since a lot of years. So i forget this:
    Code:
    /export *(acl,async,no_subtree_check,fsid=0,rw)
    
    After this all exports
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Niels Eliasen

    Niels Eliasen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried to get your options working... I do have to have the "no_root_squash" set as well... otherwise nogo ....
     
  11. fireon

    fireon Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,982
    Likes Received:
    182
    Yes, i too.
    Here is the whole config from one from us Proxmoxbackupserver:
    Code:
    /export     *(acl,sync,no_subtree_check,fsid=0,rw)
    /iso-images     *(async,no_subtree_check,all_squash,rw)
    /transfer     *(async,no_subtree_check,all_squash,rw)
    /sicherung      *(async,no_subtree_check,no_root_squash,rw) 10.68.90.0/24(sync,no_subtree_check,no_root_squash,rw) 10.70.100.0/24(sync,no_subtree_check,no_root_squash,rw)
    /archiv     10.71.90.0/26(sync,no_subtree_check,no_root_squash,rw)
    /partimag        *(no_subtree_check,no_root_squash,rw)
    /vm-share-no-backup     10.71.90.0/26(sync,no_subtree_check,no_root_squash,rw)
    
    Also ACL's are possible, directly on the files and folders. Also very interessting the manpage
    Code:
    man exports
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice