[SOLVED] Installer displays only upper left corner

xtim

Oct 11, 2020
Hi,

I am new to the whol vm and server world and need your help to get into it.
When I am trying to install proxmox (6.1 and 6.2) I get a properly displayed install screen. When I chose install, the console opens up and does something. When it executes all prompts I get into the configure screen. Here my problems (perhaps) start. So, I get only displayed the right upper corner of the displayed source. The problem on this is, even if I use tab to get through the configuration process, I cant click on install in the last step, cause I have no field to interact before tabbing though until the install button.

I tried 4 different monitors from 1280x720 to 1920x1080. DVI and VGA. On mainboard graphics and an external AMD-Card.

All my efforts to find and implement a solution from the forum didn’t work so far. Could you guys give me some more details and any solution to it?

Hi to me,

even if I didn't solve the problem, a little work around to atleast solve the thread.

Just open up a youtube installation tutorial to know the overlay of the installer and use Ctrl + Tab; Ctrl + Shift + Tab; Ctrl. + h; Ctrl. + g; to navigate trouth the installation processe.

Didnt know wich Shortcurt helped with my confirmation problem in the end, but it worked!

Had a similar problem:

I used a KVM solution that can only capture 4:3 screen resolutions. So I, too, saw only the upper left of the screen (well, most of it, but it lacked the lower right corner).

With some help from Fabian, I managed to navigate the installation using a combination of <ALT> and whatever was the right key to proceed on a given screen (that I found by looking for installation screenshots).

While the installation succeeded, I was wondering whether it might be possible to force the installation to only use 4:3 screen resolutions?

About