How to?

elonmussk

Dec 31, 2020
Hey! i am new to proxmox, and i had 2 questions!

How to acces your mobo bios when running promox?

How to run raid in proxmox? (raid1)

thanks!

How to acces your mobo bios when running promox?
Connect a monitor to your server and press the key the manual mentions to boot into bios.
If you dont have physical access there might be an BMC on your server which will allow you to VNC into the bios using a web interface.
How to run raid in proxmox? (raid1)
That depends. Zfs mirror, mdraid raid1, hardware raid and even PCI passthrough a raid controller would be possible.
Whats your hardware and what do you want to achieve?

Last edited:
Connect a monitor to your server and press the key the manual mentions to boot into bios.
If you dont have physical access there might be an BMC on your server which will allow you to VNC into the bios using a web interface.

That depends. Zfs mirror, mdraid raid1, hardware raid and even PCI passthrough a raid controller would be possible.
Whats your hardware and what do you want to achieve?
Hey!

thanks for your reply!

I wanna make a fileserver, and i was thinking about doing a raid trough proxmox or via the bios, what do you reccomend?
I use 2X 500gb
Ill use the raid to run freenas!

Thanks!

Last edited:
FreeNAS needs the drives without any raid and with direct access because it is using ZFS to create a software raid. And you need to install FreeNAS to a VM and a VM has no direct access to drives connected to your host until you pass them through.
If you want less overhead (physical drives accessible by the VM without additional virtualization) you need to buy a PCIe HBA, attach that drives to the HBA and passthrough the HBA to your VM (if your hardware is supporting VT-x and IOMMU).
Slower option would be to just passthrough the drives themself but that way it will be virtualized by KVM so you got the additional virtualization overhead.

Last edited: