How to Resize after increasing physical HDD size

cdsJerry

Renowned Member
Sep 12, 2011
I recently increased the size of the drives in my RAID system. I'm not very good at linux commands and I'm scared to death I'll do something stupid and delete my VM, which is critical to my small company. I could use some help with specific commands if possible. To be clear, I'm not trying to increase the size of the drive in the VM. I'm trying to increase the size of the drive where the VMs are stored.

I'm currently running Proxmox 3.1-24/060db5a6
I have a RAID drive which I boot to, and contains most of my stuff, including my VMs. I just increased it to a 2TB partition.
I have a second 2TB physical drive I use for storing backups on.
I have a NAS which I also use for storing backups on.
I used Gparted to increase my partition on the RAID boot drive to 2TB and to format a second partition on that drive of about 1.6TB that I'll probably use for something, but not sure what.

My problem is I don't know how to get Proxmox to use the 2TB drive. It still thinks it's 799GB according to the Summary page when I highlight the drive in the GUI. Using Putty I've gathered the following information, which may or may not be helpful.
root@live:~# pvscan
PV /dev/sdb2 VG pve lvm2 [2.00 TiB / 1.11 TiB free]
Total: 1 [2.00 TiB] / in use: 1 [2.00 TiB] / in no VG: 0 [0 ]
root@live:~# lvscan
ACTIVE '/dev/pve/swap' [7.00 GiB] inherit
ACTIVE '/dev/pve/root' [96.00 GiB] inherit
ACTIVE '/dev/pve/data' [811.80 GiB] inherit
root@live:~# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev 10M 0 10M 0% /dev
tmpfs 1.6G 376K 1.6G 1% /run
/dev/mapper/pve-root 95G 1.9G 88G 3% /
tmpfs 5.0M 0 5.0M 0% /run/lock
tmpfs 3.2G 22M 3.2G 1% /run/shm
/dev/mapper/pve-data 800G 656G 144G 83% /var/lib/vz
/dev/sdb1 495M 101M 370M 22% /boot
/dev/sda1 1.8T 955G 786G 55% /backups
/dev/fuse 30M 16K 30M 1% /etc/pve
192.168.2.114:/mnt/pools/A/A0/Backups 1.8T 1.1T 768G 59% /mnt/pve/Backups-IO