[SOLVED] How to install Dell OpenManage 7.1 in Proxmox 4

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by Aaron Smith, Mar 19, 2016.

  1. Aaron Smith

    Aaron Smith New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was having trouble installing Dell OpenManage 7.1 (I am running Dell servers in my cluster), These are the steps that worked for me:

    Run the following commands in the console for the node.

    Code:
    echo 'deb http://linux.dell.com/repo/community/deb/latest /' | tee -a /etc/apt/sources.list.d/linux.dell.com.sources.list
    Code:
    gpg --keyserver pool.sks-keyservers.net --recv-key 1285491434D8786F
    Code:
    gpg -a --export 1285491434D8786F | apt-key add -
    An older version of libssl is needed to install the packages.

    Code:
    wget http://snapshot.debian.org/archive/debian/20110406T213352Z/pool/main/o/openssl098/libssl0.9.8_0.9.8o-7_amd64.deb
    Code:
    dpkg -i libssl0.9.8_0.9.8o-7_amd64.deb
    Code:
    apt-get update
    Code:
    apt-get install srvadmin-all
    Code:
    service dataeng start
    Code:
    service dsm_om_connsvc start
    Code:
    update-rc.d dsm_om_connsvc defaults


    You will then need to use Internet Explorer to view the Web portal, due to a sl_error_weak_server_ephemeral_dh_key in firefox and chrome.

    Code:
    https://YOURNODEIP:1311

    References:
    https://forum.proxmox.com/threads/dell-openmanage-installation.13145/
    http://linux.dell.com/repo/community/deb/OMSA_7.1/
    http://lists.us.dell.com/pipermail/linux-poweredge/2013-June/048083.html
     
    #1 Aaron Smith, Mar 19, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2016
    ekfrasi likes this.
  2. ekfrasi

    ekfrasi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you so much!
    I spend all morning trying to figure that out
    This link was impossible to find as " http://packages.debian.org/squeeze/libssl0.9.8 " does not work anymore.
    Code:
    wget http://snapshot.debian.org/archive/debian/20110406T213352Z/pool/main/o/openssl098/libssl0.9.8_0.9.8o-7_amd64.deb
    
    Thanks again

    Just to add, if you really want to use FF
    Code:
    (1) In a new tab, type or paste about:config in the address bar and press Enter. Click the button promising to be careful.
    
    (2) In the search box above the list, type or paste dhe and pause while the list is filtered
    
    (3) Double-click the security.ssl3.dhe_rsa_aes_128_sha preference to switch it from true to false (disable Firefox from using this cipher)
    
    (4) Double-click the security.ssl3.dhe_rsa_aes_256_sha preference to switch it from true to false (disable Firefox from using this cipher)
    
    Then try the site again; you might have to reload the page using Ctrl+Shift+r to bypass cached information.
    
    From https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1065417
     
    #2 ekfrasi, Jul 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2016
  3. spirit

    spirit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    135
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. ekfrasi

    ekfrasi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well unfortunately it does not work like that with jessie.
    Up to the point where "apt-get install srvadmin-all" is entered everything seems fine BUT then you have the "cannot be installed" messages.
    I tried it with v8.3 with libssl 0.9.8 and everything works just fine. Without it it just does not.
     
  5. spirit

    spirit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    135
    I don't have any problem with 8.3 on jessie / proxmox4 without libssl 0.9.8
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. ekfrasi

    ekfrasi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    You mean you followed the instructions on http://linux.dell.com/repo/community/debian/ and it worked ?
    I tried it just before yesterday on a bare metal r620, clean install proxomox 4.2 and it did not. :(
    Have you done it on a CT/VM?

    I will try a clean install again today. I hope it will work.
    Please advise
     
  7. spirit

    spirit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    135
    Yes,

    I'm using this as repo:

    deb http://linux.dell.com/repo/community/ubuntu jessie openmanage

    Then

    apt-get install srvadmin-all
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. magicfab

    magicfab Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    @spirit, can you also install the dcism package? I can't seem to find it, everything else is there.
     
  9. joulester

    joulester New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys! I trying to install this on my R710 but I don´t know how to add the repository.

    Code:
     sudo echo 'deb <Not allowed to post link because of new user> {release-name} openmanage' | sudo tee -a /etc/apt/sources.list.d/linux.dell.com.sources.list 
    what do I write instead of {release-name}?

    I´m running Proxmox 4.4 on a R710 with H700 idrac6
     
  10. spirit

    spirit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    135
    "jessie"

    content of /etc/apt/sources.list.d/linux.dell.com.sources.list:

    deb http://linux.dell.com/repo/community/debian jessie openmanage
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice