How to get better performance with pfsense vm

naga-champa

Aug 8, 2020
i've seen many posts regarding this topic but thought i'd add one more about pfsense performance under prox.

I'm new to proxmox but I think it's been really great solution so far. I had both pfsense and opnsense running to compare the 2. I was super excited when i fired up the vm and ran iperf from a host on my net - almost 940mb/s - i was blown away. Then it started heading downhill - when i tried to route through the vm - pings were good, udp was good but tpp -> no good. After beating my head against the wall, changing drivers from virtio to e1000 and back again - i landed on the tcp offload issue. having it enabled (unchecked) i was getting great performance but broken routing. Disabling in pfsense fixes routing.

The best i perf I get is around 650-700mb/s. Running bare metal im consistently getting 940mb/s. While 650mb/s isnt terrible its sticking in my craw that initially saw wire speed in the first iperf test - so i think its possible but im missing something in my config. I've seen other's online seem to get wirespeed under xen/kvm.

my suspicion is i need to disable tcp offload, tso, gso on the proxmox host - havent tried it yet because i blew away prox and loaded pfsense.

What am I missing?

i don't have a super beefy box - protectli 4 core celeron, 8gb ram, 120gb ssd. it had both firewalls running and a centos vm running at the same time - plenty of ram/cpu cycles to spare. Really want to make prox work.

Thanks.

Attachments

• Bare metal.png
    Bare metal.png
    136.2 KB · Views: 236
  • prox-vm-pfsense.png
    prox-vm-pfsense.png
    43.1 KB · Views: 226
Hi,

if you disable offloading the checksum must be generated by the CPU.
So the speed of the network depends on the clock speed of the CPU.
you can use PCIe NIC passthrough [1] to enable the offloading and relieve the CPU.

1.) https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Pci_passthrough

Hi,
which packet size do you use for iperf ?