How to close open port 111

wwweiss

Apr 28, 2018
I am completely new to proxmox mailgateway. Installation went like a charm, everything ist up and running on a virtual machine inside hyper-v. I am just playing around not yet really using the system.
Only two days after my installation I got some complaints form reports.cert-bund.de that this system has open port 111 (upd).
Ist it necessary to have this port open? My system is not behind a firewall, so I would like to have only necessary ports open.
Can anybody help me how to close this port without loosing needed functions?

Thanks for this info.
Just for some other newbies: I disabled rpc with
# service rpcbind stop
# systemctl disable rpcbind

I would suggest to disable this by default, when using the proxmox iso.

Got the same report just a few days after setting up the system. For sure, it's possible to disable services, which are not required, however, maybe it's better to have a firewall on the system itself (however RPC seems to be the only service not bound to localhost, which is not required but enabled/started). I used

# apt-get install ufw
# ufw enable
# ufw default deny incoming
# ufw default allow outgoing
# ufw allow ssh
# ufw allow smtp
# ufw allow 8006

Much better then was, I set up OpenVPN lateron and also closed ports 8006 and ssh from the whole internet and limited them to my VPN connection.

Can one of two changes be included in a future PMG release?

• Disable rpcbind by default
  • Add a configuration knob to "Administration > Services" in the GUI/API so that it can be controlled without needing to make CLI-based changes

I wanted to surface this old thread. I noticed in a review of the documentation compared to the reality on the PMG server.

Here are the firewall settings from the documentation:
https://pmg.proxmox.com/pmg-docs/pmg-admin-guide.html#firewall_settings

Here is the output of sudo ss -tulwn | grep LISTEN:
Code: