How can I upgrade to latest version of 6.1? (Now that 6.2 is out)

Nov 2, 2019
Hi, I've been a lazy system administrator for my little Proxmox install. I upgraded to 6.1 back in February and haven't been keeping up with updates. 6.2 is out now - but I like to let things soak a bit before upgrading. Is it possible for me to somehow upgrade to the latest version of 6.1 packages for now?

i.e. can I somehow travel back in time to the day before 6.2 release and do a `dist-upgrade` then?

Cheers!

Is it possible for me to somehow upgrade to the latest version of 6.1 packages for now?

Technically yes, you can upgrade to a specific version, but you'd need to do some specific version requests/pinning and it will quickly get a PITA due to package interdependencies, so if you're not well versed with Debian package management, dependency conflict resolving, etc...I'd suggest to avoid that.

We're doing rolling releases anyway, and you should frequently update, best when you get the mail notification about new package updates available. The 6.x versions are point releases which mostly summarize the last updates plus a few new ones plus a new ISO release - so if you upgraded in February the jump to 6.2 now isn't that big.

Reactions: smallsomething
Hi,

just run Upgrade in the GUI
NODE->Updates->Upgrade

or run it on the Command Line.
Code:
apt update && apt full-upgrade

More information you get here
https://pve.proxmox.com/pve-docs/pve-admin-guide.html#_system_software_updates
Hey @wolfgang

would there be any reason why our 6.2-4 wont upgrade to the latest 6.3-2.

not sure why but we have 1 host that upgraded to 6.3-2 and another that wont upgrade past 6.2-4.

have rebooted and tried the
Code:
still no luck we keep getting the below output.

Code:
Your System is up-to-date

any help would be greatly appreciated.

""Cheers
G