Hot Standby Server?

comcanada

May 14, 2012
Hi,

We have a 2 server install of Proxmox where server1 has the VM's. Server2 gets the backups from server1.

The idea is if server1 fails, we restore from the last set on server2, and start up the vms there.

Two questions:
1 - How can we automate the restore on server2?
2 - Is there a better way to do this?

-Rick

Hi,

Though i'm also newbie here in Proxmox, my suggestion would be:

If you have 2 servers and using Server 2 for just backups, then,
- Install Proxmox on Server 2 also and configure HA-High Availability so that you are still running if server1 fails (i've not done myself,hope i'm correct on HA)
- Throw in 2nd drives on Server1 & 2 for Backups

Hope it helps :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi,

We have a 2 server install of Proxmox where server1 has the VM's. Server2 gets the backups from server1.

The idea is if server1 fails, we restore from the last set on server2, and start up the vms there.

Two questions:
1 - How can we automate the restore on server2?
2 - Is there a better way to do this?

-Rick

How is the second server going to know the first server is down? It could be the second server that has a communications fault to the first server. Do you really want to automatically have two sets of the same VM's running at the same time?

Fall over needs to be complex like the Proxmox HA or done manually by someone that knows what's going on.

I don't like many of the proposed solutions to the problem as most of them rely on the VM's being on some form of shared storage(iSCSI, DRBD, NFS) I had DRBD break on me big time, and iSCSI and NFS are a single point of failure.

The Proxmox HA cluster is a great idea http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/High_Availability_Cluster but it needs shared storage, which rules out having a DR site unless I can get DRBD to behave and work faster. (It doesn't know what is used or unused space on the drives so it's really inefficient)