Help - How do I install on HP N54L Microserver?

BigLeo

Nov 14, 2018
I am new to Proxmox and have found the process unbelivably frustrating so far. After downloading the ISO I tried to copy it to a USB stick. Nothing seems to work. I have tried all of the recommended ways of creating the USB install. Sometimes the N54L does not recognise the USB stick at all. Other times I get a display that says "GRUB" and then it hangs. One time I got a Grub Rescue prompt. At no time did I get further than this.

Could someone please tell me what is going on? I expected I might hit problems during the install but I have never had a problem where I can't even seem to get a USB stick that works. I read in the documentation that Rufus does not work but nothing says why?

I've tried using dd on the Linux machine. I've tried Etcher which just trashes the USB sticks. OSForensics - ImageUSB seems to be much better but I still can't boot.

What I don't understand is why it is so hard to create a USB install for Proxmox. Why does Rufus not work? Why does nothing boot? I have never had anything like this before. When I was looking for a new server platform for the N54L someone on another forum recommended Proxmox and says it runs fine on their N54L so it must be possible.

Any help much appreciated.

Have you tried a different USB Stick? (for me such problems usually are related to a broken USB Stick)

At least 8 different ones. It is definitely not the USB stick as I then reformatted them and flashed them with another system which booted straight away. Etcher did something really strange to all of them.

For me:
Code:
dd if=proxmox-ve_5.2-1.iso of=/dev/sdz bs=64M
sync

usually works well and results in a bootable usb-stick (/dev/sdz is the name of the USB Stick)