(help) Fresh Install: No native mode, forcing panel scaling

hikari

Jan 31, 2011
Good day guys.

I've been using proxmox for almost 2 years now and love it.
I ran into an issue when I upgraded from 1.9 to 2.1. Was racking my brain on this and finally decided to say screw it and did a fresh install on another drive as a test. Seems I am getting the same error. FYI did not have any issues with 1.9

vmserver kernel: [drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: No native mode, forcing panel scaling

Any help would be greatly apreshiated.

This is straight from a fresh wipe and install via 2.1 iso (usb)
have not touched anything after installation.

Please advise

google leads me here: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=123783

Add
Code:
drm_kms_helper.poll=0
to the kernel line in /boot/grub/menu.lst

e100 thank you for your insight.

Seems like the first thing everyone says is google.
lol well of course I googled that should be the first thing someone does.
Kinda irritating if you ask me. Question is for those who are more educated in proxmox and who have come across the problem/bug
There are a few things wrong with what you posted.(could very well be miscommunication)

First this is a BANDAID and not a fix.

That being said.
First thing iIstated is that I am running version 2.1 which means we are using Grub2.
Knowing this there is no Menu.list any longer. They use the /boot/grub/grub.cfg which is a generated config.

For those of you who want to use this bandaid here are the steps

You need to create a config file "modprobe.conf" in directory /etc/modprobe.d/
Add the following line (note you need to start the line with the options command) and save

options drm_kms_helper poll=0

Like I said it's a bandaid just like using the quiet command.

You are right about grub2, not had to mess with grub on 2.x so it did not even cross my mind that there is no menu.lst

Agree that this is a bandaid.