Guest sound and upgrade : VM don't start

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by dominique.fournier, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. dominique.fournier

    dominique.fournier New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I was adding the sound in my VM by adding the line : "args: -soundhw all" in /etc/pve/nodes/proxmox-bureau/qemu-server/105.conf file.

    Today I do the upgrade, and the VM doesn't restart :
    /usr/bin/kvm -id 105 -chardev 'socket,id=qmp,path=/var/run/qemu-server/105.qmp,server,nowait' -mon 'chardev=qmp,mode=control' -vnc unix:/var/run/qemu-server/105.vnc,x509,password -pidfile /var/run/qemu-server/105.pid -daemonize -name vigie -smp 'sockets=1,cores=2' -nodefaults -boot 'menu=on' -vga cirrus -k en-us -m 1024 -soundhw all -device 'piix3-usb-uhci,id=uhci,bus=pci.0,addr=0x1.0x2' -device 'usb-tablet,id=tablet,bus=uhci.0,port=1' -device 'virtio-balloon-pci,id=balloon0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x3' -drive 'if=none,id=drive-ide2,media=cdrom,aio=native' -device 'ide-cd,bus=ide.1,unit=0,drive=drive-ide2,id=ide2,bootindex=200' -drive 'file=/dev/pve/vm-105-disk-1,if=none,id=drive-virtio0,aio=native,cache=none' -device 'virtio-blk-pci,drive=drive-virtio0,id=virtio0,bus=pci.0,addr=0xa,bootindex=100' -netdev 'type=tap,id=net0,ifname=tap105i0,script=/var/lib/qemu-server/pve-bridge,vhost=on' -device 'virtio-net-pci,mac=4A:D1:E9:53:82:EB,netdev=net0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x12,id=net0,bootindex=300'
    kvm: -device virtio-balloon-pci,id=balloon0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x3: PCI: slot 3 function 0 not available for virtio-balloon-pci, in use by AC97
    kvm: -device virtio-balloon-pci,id=balloon0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x3: Device 'virtio-balloon-pci' could not be initialized

    How can I solve this ?

    Thanks a lot !
     
  2. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,294
    Likes Received:
    370
    post your VMID.conf, your pveversion -v and the the output of 'qm start 105'
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. dominique.fournier

    dominique.fournier New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I disable ballooning, it works : "balloon: 0" in conf. But it is not perfect...

    - - - Updated - - -

    Sorry Tom, I don't see your post :
    VMID.conf :
    pveversion -v :
    qm start 105 :
     
  4. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,294
    Likes Received:
    370
    you should post your settings, then I can tell you what you need to do.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. dominique.fournier

    dominique.fournier New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cross-posting. See my previous post. Thanks !
     
  6. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,294
    Likes Received:
    370
    I can confirm the issue, we will dig deeper.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,340
    Likes Received:
    286
    Does it work if you use something like:

    args: -device AC97,addr=0x18
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. dominique.fournier

    dominique.fournier New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes ! Well done !

    Thanks a lot.

    Dom
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice