Experience connecting OVS to SDN controller in Proxmox ?

Jan 20, 2016
Hello,

I am new to Proxmox and to this forum. I would like to ask a question as I have not been able to find a solution anywhere in the forum.

I would like to know if someone has already tried connecting an Open VSwitch running in Proxmox to a controller talking OpenFlow to the OpenvSwitch. Indeed, I am interested in dynamic management through a controller, and I have read that it was sometimes quite tricky to get OVS to be configured in Proxmox, thus my question.

Thanks in advance for your answer,

I would like to know if someone has already tried connecting an Open VSwitch running in Proxmox to a controller talking OpenFlow to the OpenvSwitch. Indeed, I am interested in dynamic management through a controller, and I have read that it was sometimes quite tricky to get OVS to be configured in Proxmox, thus my question.

As far as it is content of the actual ovs implementation it is also available in Proxmox (after installing openvswitch-switch), but note

https://github.com/openvswitch/ovs/blob/master/OPENFLOW-1.1+.md

To the OP, I'm with you on getting an SDN controller hooked into OVS that's supporting a Proxmox cluster. I'm thinking the best bet is to download an ODL controller and give it a whirl. That's what I am going to do. To get to looking at things quickly, I'm going to see if I can get a copy of brocade's or some other 3rd party's ODL based controller and have a go at it.

This is very interesting area for the future of Proxmox VE network model using OpenvSwitch.

By the way, when Open vSwitch will be included as a standard package inside Proxmox VE ? (without the need to manually install the package "openvswitch-switch" ).

If ODL (OpenDaylight Project) as SDN controller can be used in some kind of cluster (on all Proxmox VE nodes) in at least Active/Standby mode, it will be a great thing to work with.