DRBD in Promox 4?

Jerome Haynes

Jan 20, 2017
Hi guys,

I have no experience with Promox though am planning to move my current infrastructure (Personal dedicated server that runs esxi 6 free) I'm replacing this infrastructure with 3x dedicated servers all with direct attached storage.

One of the main reasons I want to move to promox was DRBD. But looking at the promox wiki page DRBD has been removed. When I was taking a look a few months ago this was one of the main reasons I wanted to switch and I wanted local storage replication rather than having to build a SAN.

I get I could probably achieve this with Ceph or something? However I'd really like to stick with DRBD if possible.

I'm a little confused after looking through some of the threads of whether we can or can't use it or if it is at all supported by promox anymore due to the linbit licensing.

What is the current state of DRBD with promox? Are there any viable alternatives?

Kind Regards,
Jerome Haynes

Hi,

The requirements for Ceph look quite a bit higher looking at the recommended configuration in the wiki. It seems like the 10GB network and SSD's are requirements? I was planning to run DRBD over 1GBE as I'm not running that many VM's and if the performance was suffering I would upgrade to 10GBE as there's no point running 10GBE if I don't need it considering it's quite a bit of a price hike.

So are you saying that I can run Ceph with normal SATA drives? Also it requires 3 identical servers? I was hoping to deploy 2 identical and the third would be a quorum/witness?

Kind Regards,
Jerome Haynes

@Jerome, you can run CEPH with your 1 GB and regular SATA drives. I would suggest setting up a virtual environment with VirtualBox with 3 Proxmox 4.4 nodes and testing it out. You just won't get great performance using the lesser equipment. It is very IO intensive.