Container private area /var/lib/vz/private/102 does not exist

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE 1.x: Installation and configuration' started by augur, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. augur

    augur New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there.

    After an electricity outage, I boot proxmox 1.9 and want to start my VM (number 102) ... but it doesn't work

    This is the log file :

    Code:
    /usr/sbin/vzctl start 102
    Starting container ...
    Container private area /var/lib/vz/private/102 does not exist
    VM 102 start failed - 
    It was e Debian-6.0-standard_6.0-4 with a photo gallery on OpenVz

    All rocks fin during ~ 100 days from installation and now, nothing.

    What happened ? How can I repair this ?

    Cheers.

    augur
     
  2. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,276
    Likes Received:
    279
    What kind of storage do you have? Single Disk?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. augur

    augur New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The system is on 1 hard drive (Western Digital Raptor 74 Go SATA 10 000 Trs)
    The other hard dirve which contains Photos was mounted on the album folder of the gallery running in VM 102 ....
    Code:
    mount -t ext4 /dev/sdb1 /var/lib/vz/root/102/var/www/igalerie/albums
    Neither in root or private folder is VM 102... :'(

    Cheers
     
  4. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,276
    Likes Received:
    279
    What is the output of

    # ls -al /var/lib/vz/private/102
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,276
    Likes Received:
    279
    And what filesystem do you use on /var/lib/vz/ (ext3 or ext4)?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. augur

    augur New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    /var/lib/vz/private/ is empty since the electricity outage !! :(

    Ext4

    Cheers
     
  7. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,276
    Likes Received:
    279
    You need to restore from backup then. But please check your disk first, to make sure it is not damaged.

    I know that does not help now, but you should use a HW Raid with BBU to prevent such things (PVE also uses ext3 by default).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. augur

    augur New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    How to do ?

    Cheers.

    augur
     
  9. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,159
    Likes Received:
    352
    depends on how you did the backup.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. augur

    augur New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ... no backup scheudle ! :eek:

    How often does Proxmox lost a VM ??
     
  11. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,159
    Likes Received:
    352
    I never lost a VM. as a IT admin you should choose the right hardware, choose the right setup, do regular backups and restore tests.

    as far as I followed this thread you just ignored all this - so back to admin school!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. augur

    augur New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not an IT admin ! ;)

    I just want to make a photo gallery on Debian for my parents by testing Proxmox ^^
    Failed !

    The hardware is the same as your partner OVH ...

    Cheers :/
     
  13. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,276
    Likes Received:
    279
    Well, OVH has a very reliable power supply, and you can also get a RAID controller there.

    Anyways, maybe the Disk is just damaged - did you verify that? Hardware failures are common - that is why you should always make a backup.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice