Confused on Mounting from Host to VM

ChrispyChris

Jul 8, 2016
I'm a total noob here, and I have been struggling to figure this out for a while and it's starting to really frustrate me and keep me from progressing. I am able to mount a shared folder on my network through fstab, but how in the world do I mount a drive with say a 1GB worth of space from my host to my VM? I know it's got to be possible without using a shared folder. Could someone please help me? I'm working on Linux but just am stuck here big time.

Mounting is a difficult concept for me when it comes to Proxmox because of the host to a VM part. I would appreciate any help.

Thanks!

Hi,

We have no shared Volumes.
You have to use a network share as you wrote.

Maybe we can understand better what you want to achieve. Why do you want to mount something from your host to your guest?

Okay I guess I've changed my mind. I am going to try and mount to fstab in my host and then share that via ext4? That way both Windows and Linux can access it and all that. I'm just having trouble figuring out what drives are alright used by OMV using "lsblk" and "blkid". I want to mount some new drives on my host, share those, and then sync everything to them from OMV, then delete OMV. Is that really difficult? I just can't seem to figure out the UUID and all that so I'm confused :/.

Edit: This is what I have:

This is what I'm getting when I lsblk in my host:

root@chrispychris:~# lsblk
NAME MAJ:MIN RM SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda 8:0 0 931.5G 0 disk
├─sda1 8:1 0 1007K 0 part
├─sda2 8:2 0 127M 0 part
└─sda3 8:3 0 931.4G 0 part
├─pve-root 252:0 0 96G 0 lvm /
├─pve-swap 252:1 0 19G 0 lvm [SWAP]
└─pve-data 252:2 0 800.4G 0 lvm /var/lib/vz
sdb 8:16 0 232.9G 0 disk
└─sdb1 8:17 0 232.9G 0 part /mnt/SSD
sdc 8:32 0 2.7T 0 disk
sdd 8:48 0 2.7T 0 disk