Confused about new network scheme

vzfanatic

Jul 22, 2008
Hi,

I'm a bit embarrassed to admit it but I'm not quite following the way that networking is done with LXC containers.

It doesn't make sense to me that i should have to setup an ethernet network setting for each ip. why can't i define a range of ips that should be allocated to that container? i've tried to subnet the ip range down by adding /29 and /30 but it doesn't work. i'm unsure if i should use a different gateway or if i should use the main gateway (.1).

for example, if i setup 192.168.1.20/30 shouldn't that give the container 2 ips? at the moment the only lucj i've had is to add multiple interfaces and give each one an ip and it has to be /24 subnet and i dont think this is right.

also, if i want to use vlan, do i have to already set the vlan up in my switch or will it work just setting it in the server container interface.

i've used proxmox a lot of years so i dont think i'm a noob, but i really am having a hard time with this network stuff.

i would really appreciate some examples of how to assign multiple ip's to one interface in a container (debian, not a kvm) and also a working example of a vlan.

thank you all very much.

for example, if i setup 192.168.1.20/30 shouldn't that give the container 2 ips? at the moment the only lucj i've had is to add multiple interfaces and give each one an ip and it has to be /24 subnet and i dont think this is right.

please read up on cidr notations.

When you allocate 192.168.1.20/30 to a LXC,

you basically do the same as
ip: 192.168.1.20
netmask: 255.255.255.252

You DO NOT allocate an IP-Range of 192.168.1.20 - 192.168.1.23, but that is rather the the IP's that can be reached from said specific IP because of the subnet you set.