Ceph OSD on PVE5 "got timeout (500)" in GUI

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by RealVaVa, Aug 10, 2017.

  1. RealVaVa

    RealVaVa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Despite the endless errors in the configs and bugs in basic assembly, I'm trying to experiment with proxmox. This time I took the standalone image proxmox-ve_5.0-af4267bf-4.iso for testing. Make a cluster - pvecm create + pvecm add. It is not trouble.
    Ceph.

    pveceph install on each of 3 nodes
    pveceph init --network x.x.x.x/24 on first node
    pveceph createmon on each

    Try to check it in GUI and get got timeout (500) on OSD page, even after making OSD from shell.

    In logs no info about that.

    P.S.: and I know. I'm a looser.
     
  2. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    338
    what does
    Code:
    ceph status
    
    say?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. pbak

    pbak New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I have the same problem, if I want to create OSD in GUI, PVE5 show me "got time out (500)"
    # ceph status

    cluster:
    id: ff5d73f9-b320-4a2b-bec9-0484ab192d20
    health: HEALTH_OK

    services:
    mon: 3 daemons, quorum 0,1,2
    mgr: no daemons active
    osd: 0 osds: 0 up, 0 in

    data:
    pools: 0 pools, 0 pgs
    objects: 0 objects, 0 bytes
    usage: 0 kB used, 0 kB / 0 kB avail
    pgs:

    Health status is OK but mgr: no daemons active.
    Any ideas?
     
  4. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,635
    Likes Received:
    418
    Create Ceph Manager (mgr) on each Monitor host.

    > pveceph createmgr
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. pbak

    pbak New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Command 'pveceph createmgr' it doesn't work:
    CLI show me: ERROR: unknown command 'createmgr'
    but I tested command from ceph manual:

    # ceph auth get-or-create mgr.$name mon 'allow profile mgr' osd 'allow *' mds 'allow *'
    # ceph-mgr -i $name

    and also nothing, ceph status show me: mgr no deamons active.

    More ideas?
     
  6. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,635
    Likes Received:
    418
    unknown command? seem you do not run latest packages, upgrade to latest and post your:

    > pveversion -v
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. pbak

    pbak New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I upgraded everything yesterday.

    # pveversion -v
    proxmox-ve: 5.0-15 (running kernel: 4.10.15-1-pve)
    pve-manager: 5.0-23 (running version: 5.0-23/af4267bf)
    pve-kernel-4.10.15-1-pve: 4.10.15-15
    libpve-http-server-perl: 2.0-5
    lvm2: 2.02.168-pve2
    corosync: 2.4.2-pve3
    libqb0: 1.0.1-1
    pve-cluster: 5.0-10
    qemu-server: 5.0-12
    pve-firmware: 2.0-2
    libpve-common-perl: 5.0-16
    libpve-guest-common-perl: 2.0-11
    libpve-access-control: 5.0-5
    libpve-storage-perl: 5.0-12
    pve-libspice-server1: 0.12.8-3
    vncterm: 1.5-2
    pve-docs: 5.0-6
    pve-qemu-kvm: 2.9.0-2
    pve-container: 2.0-14
    pve-firewall: 3.0-1
    pve-ha-manager: 2.0-2
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.2-2
    glusterfs-client: 3.8.8-1
    lxc-pve: 2.0.8-3
    lxcfs: 2.0.7-pve2
    criu: 2.11.1-1~bpo90
    novnc-pve: 0.6-4
    smartmontools: 6.5+svn4324-1
    zfsutils-linux: 0.6.5.9-pve16~bpo90
    ceph: 12.1.2-pve1

    Today after apt update && apt dist-upgrade CLI show me:
    # apt update && apt dist-upgrade
    Ign:1 ......................../debian stretch InRelease
    Hit:2 .................................../debian stretch Release
    Hit:4 .........download.proxmox...../debian/ceph-luminous stretch InRelease
    Hit:5 ........security.debian... stretch/updates InRelease
    Ign:6 ........enterprise.proxmox...../debian/pve stretch InRelease
    Err:7 .........enterprise.proxmox...../debian/pve stretch Release
    401 Unauthorized
    Reading package lists... Done
    E: The repository '...........enterprise.proxmox...../debian/pve stretch Release' does not have a Release file.
    N: Updating from such a repository can't be done securely, and is therefore disabled by default.
    N: See apt-secure(8) manpage for repository creation and user configuration details.

    Maybe I have to change source?
     
  8. Vitaliy

    Vitaliy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    RealVaVa likes this.
  9. Smarti

    Smarti New Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please post if you manage to create pools from the GUI as it won't allow me to do this.
     
  10. Vitaliy

    Vitaliy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Also had an error when creating the pool. Try to create a pool in Firefox! I got it.
     
  11. pbak

    pbak New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    All works fine !!!

    Thanks guys!
     
  12. RealVaVa

    RealVaVa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vitaly
    It is help for me. Now it's work fine.

    Спасибо, Витя, выручил!
     
  13. RealVaVa

    RealVaVa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice