can't add vlan tag x to interface bond0?

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Networking and Firewall' started by danielc, May 2, 2018.

  1. danielc

    danielc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,

    Faced this problem when started VM
    RTNETLINK answers: File exists
    can't add vlan tag 2002 to interface bond0
    kvm: -netdev type=tap,id=net0,ifname=tap101i0,script=/var/lib/qemu-server/pve-bridge,downscript=/var/lib/qemu-server/pve-bridgedown: network script /var/lib/qemu-server/pve-bridge failed with status 512
    TASK ERROR: start failed: command '/usr/bin/kvm -id 101 -name vm101 -chardev 'socket,id=qmp,path=/var/run/qemu-server/101.qmp,server,nowait' -mon 'chardev=qmp,mode=control' -pidfile /var/run/qemu-server/101.pid -daemonize -smbios 'type=1,uuid=23e2f692-7e46-412a-8ca7-5fa737e5dd2c' -smp '4,sockets=1,cores=4,maxcpus=4' -nodefaults -boot 'menu=on,strict=on,reboot-timeout=1000,splash=/usr/share/qemu-server/bootsplash.jpg' -vga std -vnc unix:/var/run/qemu-server/101.vnc,x509,password -no-hpet -cpu 'kvm64,+lahf_lm,+sep,+kvm_pv_unhalt,+kvm_pv_eoi,hv_spinlocks=0x1fff,hv_vapic,hv_time,hv_reset,hv_vpindex,hv_runtime,hv_relaxed,enforce' -m 4096 -device 'pci-bridge,id=pci.1,chassis_nr=1,bus=pci.0,addr=0x1e' -device 'pci-bridge,id=pci.2,chassis_nr=2,bus=pci.0,addr=0x1f' -device 'piix3-usb-uhci,id=uhci,bus=pci.0,addr=0x1.0x2' -device 'usb-tablet,id=tablet,bus=uhci.0,port=1' -device 'virtio-balloon-pci,id=balloon0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x3' -iscsi 'initiator-name=iqn.1993-08.org.debian:01:4496164dc223' -drive 'file=/var/lib/vz/template/iso/Win_2016Srv_64Bit_English_-3_MLF_X21-30350.ISO,if=none,id=drive-ide2,media=cdrom,aio=threads' -device 'ide-cd,bus=ide.1,unit=0,drive=drive-ide2,id=ide2,bootindex=200' -drive 'file=/dev/pve/vm-101-disk-1,if=none,id=drive-virtio0,format=raw,cache=none,aio=native,detect-zeroes=on' -device 'virtio-blk-pci,drive=drive-virtio0,id=virtio0,bus=pci.0,addr=0xa,bootindex=100' -netdev 'type=tap,id=net0,ifname=tap101i0,script=/var/lib/qemu-server/pve-bridge,downscript=/var/lib/qemu-server/pve-bridgedown' -device 'e1000,mac=92:F2:6B:D5:14:A9,netdev=net0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x12,id=net0,bootindex=300' -rtc 'driftfix=slew,base=localtime' -global 'kvm-pit.lost_tick_policy=discard'' failed: exit code 1

    I followed this to do the configuration.
    https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Network_Model

    And this is my interfaces file

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    auto eno2
    iface eno2 inet manual

    auto vmbr0
    iface vmbr0 inet static
    address 18.23.5.10
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 18.23.5.254
    bridge_ports bond0
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0


    auto bond0
    iface bond0 inet manual
    slaves eno2
    bond_miimon 100
    bond_mode 802.3ad


    auto vlan2002
    iface vlan2002 inet manual
    vlan_raw_device bond0

    auto vlan20
    iface vlan20 inet manual
    vlan_raw_device bond0

    Even ip a looks fine
    root@CD3:~# ip a
    1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    2: eno2: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,SLAVE,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast master bond0 state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 04:7d:7b:ea:93:6a brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    3: enp7s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:02:c9:c0:b5:90 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    4: vmbr0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 04:7d:7b:ea:93:6a brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 18.23.5.105/24 brd 18.23.5.255 scope global vmbr0
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fe80::74ee:5aff:fe09:e7a5/64 scope link
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    5: bond0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,MASTER,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue master vmbr0 state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 04:7d:7b:ea:93:6a brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet6 fe80::67d:7bff:feea:936a/64 scope link
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    6: vlan2002@bond0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 04:7d:7b:ea:93:6a brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet6 fe80::67d:7bff:feea:936a/64 scope link
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    7: vlan20@bond0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 04:7d:7b:ea:93:6a brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet6 fe80::67d:7bff:feea:936a/64 scope link
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    9: vmbr0v20: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether c2:a6:13:aa:1b:96 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    11: vmbr0v2002: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether ce:5d:9f:fb:1e:a6 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

    I have also looks at dmesg, nothing seems wrong as well.
    I am in lost.
    Would you please help me?
    Thanks
     
  2. aderumier

    aderumier Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    17
    you don't need to define vlan interfaces in /etc/network/interfaces

    if you define vlan tag in vm configuration, proxmox will create the bond0.vlan interface and a vmbr0v[vlan] bridge for you.
     
    danielc likes this.
  3. danielc

    danielc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, is there any diferent between the network setup of a cluster and standalone?
    Because last time i setup a cluster, seems declear the vlan on the HV node is ok, but this time is not.
    Anyway, it is ok now, thank you aderumier!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice