[SOLVED] Can't Access PBS Web Interface on Firefox, but Works on Edge - SEC_ERROR_INADEQUATE_KEY_USAGE

amp88

Aug 9, 2020
Hi all. Bit of an odd problem. I've been using PBS in my homelab for more than 2 months now without any issues. After the initial installation and configuration I haven't needed to make any changes, but I just tried to login to the web interface on Firefox and was greeted with the following error:

pbs_error.png

"Secure Connection Failed. An error occurred during a connection to 192.168.1.12:8007. Certificate key usage inadequate for attempted operation. Error code: SEC_ERROR_INADEQUATE_KEY_USAGE"

Firefox doesn't give me any options to "continue with the risk anyway" or something similar. When I try on Edge I get the (expected) warning about an "invalid" certificate authority and can use the "advanced" option to continue at my own risk, so there's a workaround and I can do whatever administration needs to be done.

I used Firefox to set up the PBS installation 2+ months ago, so it definitely worked in the past. My assumption is that newer Firefox releases are more stringent about which certificates they allow users to override warnings on, but I'm not sure if that's the case. Has anyone else run into this issue using Firefox to access the PBS web interface?

Firefox version: 81.0.2 (64-bit)

Thanks!

Hello,

i also browsed from Windows 10, firefox version 81.0.2, it's works,

DeepinScreenshot_select-area_20201019121247.png

Please check firewall/protection programs

Reactions: amp88
could you post the 'X509v3 extensions' part of the output of openssl x509 -in /etc/proxmox-backup/proxy.pem -noout -text?

does it work on a fresh profile?

does it work on a fresh profile?