Cannot modify cluster.conf

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by kankamuso, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. kankamuso

    kankamuso Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    It seems we did a mistake and broke the cluster conf. Now, quorum is never reached and the cluster does not start. We have tried to manually create a cluster.conf.new file and apply changes, but nothing works. We are even unable to write on /etc/pve. We have tried stopping the PVE-cluster service and modify the config file on /cluster, but after restarting the service everything goes back to wrong...

    Cman cannot be started...

    What can we do?.

    Thanks in advance!.
     
  2. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,461
    Likes Received:
    311
    if nothing helps, try to directly edit /etc/cluster/cluster.conf until you get cman running. Then move the changes back to /etc/pve/cluster.conf.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kankamuso

    kankamuso Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have finally managed to make it work following other approach. We directly modified the sqlite database managing all that stuff and things are ok now... too complex perhaps !

    Thanks.1
     
  4. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,461
    Likes Received:
    311
    If you loose quorum, you can also reduce the expected votes. Just make sure that the other nodes are offline, then run

    # pvecm expected X

    where X is the number of expected votes (1 if only one node is online). That way you should be able to get quorate.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. davlaw

    davlaw Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1

    Kind of dug myself into this hole..... could you help with details on what you needed to do?

    Everytime I edit cluster.conf it's over written , [dcdb] notice: wrote new cluster config '/etc/cluster/cluster.conf'
     
    #5 davlaw, Apr 11, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2012
  6. davlaw

    davlaw Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1

    Well heck, got on the local console and messed around. Finally did a service cman start

    what ya know, it started and synced /etc/pve

    all is good...


    ooopsss sorry this was on v2 of proxmox.. I missed seeing I was in a v1 forum.. sorry (was looking for the symptom)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice