Bridge network no internet in container

lebanaht95

Jul 23, 2019
Hi.
I am new to Proxmox. Have newest (6.0) installed on a VPS, whose provider claim that they don't restrict MAC address and recommend to use bridge mode instead of route. I want to assign each container an own IPv4 but after trying many different configurations there is still no internet in container.

What I have tried:
- blog.no-panic.at/2016/08/09/proxmox-on-debian-at-hetzner-with-multiple-ip-addresses/
- sysorchestra.com/proxmox-5-on-hetzner-root-server-with-ipv4/
- And countless other. Both route and bridge.

VPS has 5 IPv4 xxx.xxx.20.93-xxx.xxx.20.97, same subnet and 1 /64 IPv6. Default setting of Proxmox below:
Proxmox /etc/network/interfaces:
Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
iface ens3 inet manual
auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
        address  xxx.xxx.20.93
        netmask  255.255.254.0
        gateway  xxx.xxx.20.1
        bridge-ports ens3
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0

Container /etc/network/interfaces: (nothing in /etc/network/interfaces.d)
Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
iface lo inet6 loopback
# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)
# Include files from /etc/network/interfaces.d:
source-directory /etc/network/interfaces.d
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address xxx.xxx.20.94
        netmask 255.255.254.0
        gateway xxx.xxx.20.1

The whole weekend was spent, no hope ;(.

Last edited:
I am new to Proxmox. Have newest (6.0) installed on a VPS, whose provider claim that they don't restrict MAC address and recommend to use bridge mode instead of route. I want to assign each container an own IPv4 but after trying many different configurations there is still no internet in container.
AFAIK the mentioned - as others - provider does restrict MAC addresses (i.e. the virtual ones from containers are not accepted).