Bonding LAG with multiple switches

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Networking and Firewall' started by klowet, Oct 30, 2018.

  1. klowet

    klowet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I have a question about bonding and HA. I want to create a HA PVE cluster, but I am confused with the bonding and its mode. See this simplified picture. I have two switches (Mikrotik CRS317, not stackable) and multiple PVE nodes (just one signed).

    What should I configure to create a HA network? The switches do support LACP, Active-Passive, etc. LAG protocols. But they don't support stacking nor multi-chassis LAG), so they are two separated L2 devices.

    In PVE, I can choose the LACP mode, but am I right that I can not use this because I can not create a LAG group on the two different switches, because I have to configure LACP also on the switches?
    If I use Active-Passive eg, can I just configure that and don 't configure something on the switches?

    [​IMG]

    Thanks
     
  2. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    315
    Hi,

    You can use LACP over two switches if they support MC- LAG or equal.
    see
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MC-LAG

    Yes this works if you have the switches connected as you show in your pic
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. klowet

    klowet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    The switches don't support MC-LAG, they don't stack.
    So my best option is to use Active-Passive bonding on PVE and "normal links" without any sort of bonding on both switches. Is that right?
     
  4. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    315
    Yes
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    klowet likes this.
  5. klowet

    klowet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, thanks.
    What with the other modes, like balance-alb? Does that has to be configured on the switches, or is it possible in this scenario to use that mode?
     
  6. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    315
    It does not work in all cases so I would not use this.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. klowet

    klowet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Clear, thx!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice